We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service for a staff night out”
Review of Mama Masala

Mama Masala
Ranked #11 of 189 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Indian, Italian, Pizza, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: IFully licensed authentic Indian and Italian Pizzeria with award winning Indian and Italian Chefs.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service for a staff night out”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I made a booking with Mama Masala for 25 people for a staff night out. The food was very good and the service was excellent. In summary we could not have been happier with the evening and I would definitely recommend Mama Masala to anyone looking for good food, at an affordable price, served by staff who are warm, friendly and very keen to please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    71
    26
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Odd combination, but okay”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Food was reasonable for an italian/indian resturant. I irdered hot, and it was hot, so that was good. Service a little slow even though it was fairly quiet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gordonburns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

First time dining at mama masala & found it to be a pleasant surprise. Had been put off by idea of Indian/Italian & was sure the standard would be affected. We opted for the indian early bird option. It was delicious with complementary poppadoms & trio of dips pre-starter which was a nice touch. Portions are large & staff were very friendly & attentive throughout. My daughter loved the ice cream mocktail. It was a nice change to have some mocktails that weren't as expensive as the real deal! Restaurant itself has nice decor & a lovely view of the riverfront. Would definitely recommend mama masala

Helpful?
1 Thank WeeLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Proper Indian Food !! Great Views and Service !”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate here in Aug (twice it was so good)...the place has a lovely feel to it ! we love indian food and this place was 5 Star ! fresh flavours and great service. The kids can have pasta and pizzas which were great ! I would recommend this Restaurant to anyone ! try their Makhani and Madras !! Beautiful food. will def go back to this place when in town next !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgeorge128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Das D, Manager at Mama Masala, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi! Thanks for your great review we highly pleased to know that you had a great time during your visit in Mama masala. Hope to se you again in future!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Better Than I Expected”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited with colleagues whilst in Derry for a show at "The Venue" over the river. Was slightly tempted by the Indian topped pizzas, but stuck to the more traditional curries. Good, if not exceptional food. The Madras was rather hotter than expected, but tasty. They did add an extra main course to the bill which they removed when we queried it, so watch out for that, but overall, well worth a visit. We liked it so much we went back the next night too, but that's partly because there were no other Indian restaurants in walking distance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Das D, Manager at Mama Masala, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi ! Thanks for your review , and great to know that you enjoyed some part of your meal with us . Sorry for your bad experience on the bill side but it's definitely some mixup which very rarely happen . But over all we want to see again in future and try to give our best.
Thanks n regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Masala also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Mama Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing