We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Mama Masala

Mama Masala
Ranked #8 of 188 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: IFully licensed authentic Indian and Italian Pizzeria with award winning Indian and Italian Chefs.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Everyone had a delicious meal here for a family birthday. Food is full over flavour and fresh. I would highly reccommend. I will say however that the take away portions are much better than the sit in meals. Highly reccommend the pescwari nann bread - scrumptious! You can also watch your food being cooked on the screen.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roisin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    68
    26
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry
2 reviews
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

PASTA is back thank god ! ...food is great no down fall at tall great staff always friendly and cant do enough they do a great deal for 30 quid starter main and a bottle of wine to two beer or soft drinks ! Great DEAL .. Iv been so many times now i have my own regular i get ! Yes some people might say it expensive but for the service and the food you get who cares !! It well priced

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

early bird/evening specials are the norm in derry and usually coming in around the 30 quid mark - this one was average.

the special menu was very limited so we went for a kebab and pizza with chicken and squid to start.

The food was grand but the side of chips we got were clearly of hte cheap frozen type . The bottle of wine with the meal was also a pretty poor italian.

Maybe teh fact it was a tuesday night or the poor early bird menu, but i believe better value can be found at many other places in the city. I would definitly try the place again, although it would a la carte and indian.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derrykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent eating experence”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

the service was superb very attentive my childern enjoyed the on the house nibbles / starter, the the food was delicious, very flavoursome and exceptional quality, we all left with a full tummy and a large smile. i would recomend any one passing through our beatiful city should absorb a taste of india / or a bit of italy for the kids, give it a go i'm glad we did. We are back again this week ( as you will find out it is def an expereince you will want to enjoy time and time again )

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and top class staff and manager!”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We was looking for somewhere to eat near the hotel we stayed at doing a job for work, and stumbled across Mama Masalla and had a great night! The food was amazing and very traditional, and was a fair price! The quality of the meat was A grade and fell apart, the staff couldnt be nicer!
Would advixe going here to anyone!
Looking forward to going back sometime soon! Mr & Mrs Edwards (from wellingborough)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Masala also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Mama Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing