We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do in Derry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Walls

City Walls
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.54*
and up
Derry Walls Private Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 134 things to do in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must do in Derry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Walking the Derry walls is the first thing a visitor to the city should do. The walls are great in themselves, but the tour gives you an overview of the city, the different neighbourhoods, and where things are located. If you do a Derry city walking tour you get the hole history of the city as well, and all the main sites of historical events can be seen from the walls.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnikenTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,171
    392
    44
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“glad I had good walking shoes for this walk in history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I enjoyed walking the city walls and the signs along the way telling me key facts covering hundred of years were very well done.

In some of the steep bits I was only half joking when I said that I wished they'd install a moving walkway there. Great views across the city and a wonderful way to learn about and understand the city at the same time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“walk the walls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

lovely walk around the walled town, full of history, lovely view . only complaint at night the ground level lighting supposed to illuminate kerbs etc, was blinding and we saw a few people tripping and falling

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank joanmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must do!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

No visit to Derry would be complete without a tour of the walls - there's just so much history to be discovered.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sackbut58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

While visiting Derry had the pleasure of walking through the streets where the murals are,what an unforgettable experience.
So much history in this city.
Don't forget to visit the Museum of Free Derry

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Walls also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing