We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking the Walk with History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Walls

City Walls
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.04*
and up
Derry Walls Private Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 132 things to do in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cavan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Walking the Walk with History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We did the walking tour and our tour guide was Carolyn, very witty and knowledgeable having lived all of her life in Derry and twelve years as a tour guide. We walked and she talked and talked from place to place. We thoroughly enjoyed the mile long walk and learned so much about this famous city. We even got to meet 'Roaring Meg'.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cavan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    386
    42
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very informative and a great attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just strolled along the walls and it was very enjoyable. Some great views and diversions along the way. Overall, an excellent window on history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A brilliant and informative walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great historic signage all along the route and wish we had taken one of the tours. Great for photographs as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trebor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Martin McCrossan City Walking Tours make the city's history come alive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Walking around the city wall with Martin McCrossan brings the history, emotion, and the personality of Derry alive to all. In one hour you can get great views, see historic places and get an unbiased background of the "troubles" in Derry.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Didn't opt for a guided tour, just strolled all round and took in the scenery and points of interest. Great

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Walls also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing