We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Tour of the Walled City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Tours

City Tours
Ranked #1 of 19 Tours in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour of the Walled City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

On our visit to Derry last week, we decided to take a walking tour rather than self-direct. Martin McCrossan's City Tours has a kiosk inside the shopping mall directly adjacent to the garage where parking is readily available and just steps from the entrance to the walled city. The woman running the kiosk could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We purchased our tickets, walked outside and were met by our tour guide, John. We had a wonderful experience for the next hour. John knows the city inside and out and literally and figuratively "walked" us through the background about "the troubles," the architecture and so much more. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone traveling to Derry. And anyone traveling to Ireland should make a point of seeing the north. The troubles are over and there is much wonderment to see in Northern Ireland. McCrossan's City Tours will get you off on the right foot (as it were)!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BMan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    23
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“THE walking tour to take while in Derry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We Recently went on a walking tour of Derry/Londonderry led by THE Martin Mccrossan and we loved it. This tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Martin did a great job of explaining the rich history of the walls and city. He made it entertaining and insightful while staying on neutral political territory. Martin's love for Derry shines through in his tours and he is a real ambassador for all of the positive steps the city has made towards peace.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rYgardnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must do tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The guide -Sorka- was excellent. The material was balanced with some from both sides. The tour was about the town and the hundreds of years of problems were put in the perspective of the tour of the town not a one sided opinion. Clearly there is a lot left unsaid....
The tour circled three quarters of the town on the walls and then cut back through the centre.
It finished spot on time and then we were offed a free coffee or tea.
This gave me a much better idea of what the town had gone through.
A friend strongly recommended this tour and I can see why. Now I recommend it to you!
It is very cheap at €4 per person and great value for money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Acsgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The tour goes ahead rain hail or shine...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had one day in Derry and wanted to do this tour. When the day dawned with an Atlantic storm we had no choice but to soldier on. Garvin was our wonderful guide. At times he had a twinkle in his eye and at times a tear and so did we.
This small city has a huge history and should be included in any tour of the Emerald Isle. If you can take the City Tour all the better.
Our group included a Contiki tour group and they were all enthralled.
Thank you Garvin.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“make sure you take the Martin McCrossan tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Did this tour this morning, Martin is very knowledgeable about Derry and its history, very friendly and funny at times, we learn't a lot about the Northern Ireland history on this tour which was amazing and sad, sort of stuff you do not learn in schools in Australia. highly recommend Martin, make you take his tour from outside Foyle shopping centre and the price is a bargain at 4 pound

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Tours also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to City Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing