We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Belfray Country Inn ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belfray Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Belfray Country Inn ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Just in the process of checking out of this wonderful hotel. Couldn't rate in high enough. Decor very up to date spotless and pleasant. Staff couldn't do enough for you without being over the top and false. Special mention to our special waiter Chris and Marty the bar man who made our stay so welcome. Bedrooms light comfortable and again very clean bathrooms modern and again very clean. We had a meal in the restaurant which was tasteful well presented and melt in your mouth. All I can say is if you want good affordable accommodation while visiting the maiden city and surrounding areas the Belfray is the one to use. Thanks guys we will be back. Xxx

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write this wonderful review -we are always happy when we have delivered on service and class..We hope to see you again soon ..Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    46
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
192
143
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

My daughter and I had a business meeting and it was the Belfray that was choosen to meet at. We met with our boss and although had not booked we were welcomed immediately by friendly staff. We were seated and handed menus. An excellent choice of meals were available and even though the boss was coeliac intolerant they catered no problem for this. We had an excellent 3 course meal at a good keen price. Staff were professional and helpful and genuine in their dealings with us. We then sat down to our meeting and were politely asked if we would like somewhere more private. We were taken to a small alcove to continue our discussion and were offered tea/coffee. Staff were available at all times when we needed something but kept a discrete distance. My boss had an excellent room and was very delighted with it. She would definately stay again and I hope to return again when passing. Food was fantastic prices keen and atmosphere and staff brilliant

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zebedee7494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfray, Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thankyou for your favourable review-we are glad you enjoted your experience with us and hope to welcome you back again soon..Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We landed to this lovely place and loved it the staff was great and helpful. Food was fantastic the rooms are nice and cosy.there was no bad points just fantastic in every way. Wedding was a great day and have to say the manager / owner was the best of crack had the whole room laughing. We will be back

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfray, Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
It is our great pleasure to hear that guests have enjoyed their experience with us .
Thankyou for taking the time to wirite such lovely comments-hope to see you again soon
regards Rodney Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

The accommodation in this hotel was excellent - very clean, modern bathroom and comfortable beds. The staff are very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. There is a quirky lift which is great when you have a lot of luggage to take upstairs, and the food in the restaurant is exceptionally good - absolutely first class. I wish I could give the hotel 5/5 but unfortunately during our three night stay, two nights were spoilt by rowdy wedding guests who stood right outside (or that's how it sounded) our bedroom window, shouting, singing and swearing until about 3.00am. The hotel is obviously very popular for weddings, but it needs to address how it manages both wedding guests and hotel guests in the same space. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - this might be quieter. I would only stay here again if I had a different room in a different part of the hotel, which is a shame as it is a brilliant place in so many ways.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the hotel near the wedding venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear LJaneUK
As a To Contributor on Tripadvisor i very much welcome your review and thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team made you feel welcome.
We do indeed have a policy for accommodating wedding guests and hotel guests but unfortunately if guests book on 3rd party booking sites we have no way of identifying if they are attending a wedding or not and this is what happened on this occasion. I will endeavour to tighten up on this procedure to help ensure there is no repeat of what happened on your stay and again thank you for your sincere review.
With best regards
Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My son had his wedding here on 14th July and it was the best day ever. Brian and John made sure that everything was perfect from start to finish. The staff are amazing and work so hard.Special thanks to Geraldine and Sally.Food was absolutely first class and served superbly.John and the girls gave us a terrific show in the evening and Brian just made the day for us. We would highly recommend the Belfray for anyone planning their wedding ....if you want a special day this is the place for you.Thank you all xxx

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debramcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Debramcc
Thank you for taking the time to review us again especially on your son's wedding day. All the team at the Belfray try hard to make weddings as special as possible delivering personal customer service and good quality food and i would agree with you that the staff do work hard in delivering this. I am pleased to hear that you had booked our Gala Show and that everyone enjoyed it. Finally thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards
Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coleraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Me and my family stayed at The Belfray on 14/07/14 for family wedding. From the moment we entered The Belfray until we left we had 5 star service. I would highly recommend The Belfray to celebrate any occasion as the food is 100%

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleColeraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Michelle
Thank you for your recommendation and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and service at your recent family wedding.
With best regards
Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I treated my mother, niece and close family friend to their lunch on 16/7/2014 at the Belfray Hotel from we entered the premises the staff were very friendly and welcoming nothing was to much bother. As my niece is a toddler they catered for her first giving us time to pick from the lovely menu. They helped my elderly friend up to the carvery and made sure everything was ok. We got talking about the wedding in the hotel as my cousin is getting married there next year. The staff were very informative and i look forward to returning in the future. Great food and excellent customer service

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmg892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear kmg892014
Thank you for such a wonderful review and i am glad that you and your party enjoyed your dining experience with us. We do try and personalise service to make the overall experience a memorable one and happy to haer we got it right.
You will enjoy your cousins wedding next year and see you then
With best regards
Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
3.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.9 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
3.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfray Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfray Country Inn

Property: The Belfray Country Inn
Address: 171 Glenshane Road | Drumahoe, Derry BT47 3EN, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#2 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfray Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Faughan Valley countryside just 3 miles from Londonderry city centre is the stylish 4 star Belfray Country Inn.All 19 bedrooms Bedrooms are well-furnished and have comfortable beds with memory foam to ensure a good nights sleep,a plasma TV and free WiFi. Car parking is also complimentary.Our rooms are easily adaptable to offer a choice of accommodation from family rooms to our popular Executive rooms. Our stylish Belfray Bistro serves food all day, every day, and hosts live evening entertainment at the weekend.Weddings and conferences are also catered for in our lavish Ballroom which has tiered levels, own lighting and sound system.The Belfray is ideally located for The Historic Walled City, the beautiful North Antrim Coast or the scenery of Donegal. The Belfray Country Inn is the closest hotel to Altnagelvin Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Belfray Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfray Country Hotel Derry
The Belfray Country Inn Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing