We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just okay”
Review of Iona Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iona Inn
Ranked #32 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2013

we had to go through the bar to get to the desk, in order to check in - which was kind of strange. our room was big; there were 4 of us. but it was old and not very attractive. the wifi didn't work in our room. it actually only worked on one bed so we all took turns trying to use it! the bar downstairs was kind of creepy- we didn't hang out there. we went across the bridge to the bars/restaurants over there. the breakfast was fine, not great but not bad. when we were leaving, we went through the door by the stairs and the woman at the hotel yelled at us and said that this was an emergency exit only. there was no alarm that had gone off and no signs indicating that this was an emergency exit only - which we told her. she was rude and said that it was a known fact. known by who, i'm not sure? if i came back to this area, i would not stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank me0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is great for a nice stay good for lads or families, not too far from centre of Derry, just a walk over the bridge.
Friendly staff & nice cooked breakfast
Shop nearby over the road there is also 2 pubs next door. Plenty of good bars there is also dominos pizza across the road :) :)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had planned the trip a while and were happy to get an affordable room. But when we finally arrived, tired and only looking forward to a nice room with a comfortable bed they told us first that the reservation didn't arrive to change it then to a young colleague messed up. We had paid partly upfront wanted that money back if they can't offer a room. They tried to organise an alternative for us and wanted to send us to the Borders what was cheeky and not helpful at all. They finally provided a solution we were fine with, it was a B&B further up the street and we were even driven there by a prepaid traxi, what was fine. The B&B " Oak Grove" was cosy, the people were friendly and we will probably go there again.

Room Tip: We didn't sleep there but were moved to the B&B "Oak Grove".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night at this place and can highly recommend it. Like all accommodation, it is important to research the surrounding area. There is a pub next door, so yes, you should expect some noise but that certainly didn't bother me. On arrival we were greeted warmly by very friendly and helpful staff. The room was a good size for having a double and single bed in it and ensuite. Very clean with lovely decor and tv/wifi to add to the bargain. It also has a stair lift leading to the rooms if required. Excellent location to all tourist attractions and the pub next door (Iona House) was very welcoming and very friendly. I think it has also the best Guiness I have ever tasted!! Breakfast was very welcoming. Good choice of cereal, yogurts etc and for those who aren't so health conscious, a very tasty Ulster Fry!!! All in all, a great experience, very friendly staff, lovely rooms and a great price, what more would you want?? Will definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lyndesay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It is late at night when writing this review and I'm unable to sleep because of the noise from a neighbouring bar. The room is very small, the bathroom is adequate, very small television on wall. There is a strange smell, probably because the inn is very old. On a positive the staff are friendly and there is good wifi connection.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in August 2013 with another couple,they put us up in a apartment across the road from hotel. The place was big and spacious had a washer and dryer which was a bonus. The double bed we slept in was beyond needing replacement,it was extremely uncomfortable to sleep in, I ended up sleeping in single bed in another room. The place needed a good clean,I slipped my shoes off and walked around in my white socks,which became black very quickly, the whole place just needed some tenderloving care. The hotel was in a great location close to the centre of town and easy to drive to main attractions. The Wi Fi was only available in main hotel which was a pain each time to go over there to send Emails. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious,they were very accommodating with food choices.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

One of the only places I could find to accommodate family of 5. Facilities fairly basic but generally clean. Great breakfast. A bit of a walk from the city centre but handy as a base for this part of Ireland

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Derry
Travelodge Derry
#13 of 13 in Derry
499 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iona Inn

Address: 15-19 Spencer Road, Derry BT47 6AA, Northern Ireland (Formerly Iona House)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: $63 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iona Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iona Inn is a family run business comprising of 12 rooms of various sizes all en suite. The Iona can accomodate up to 28 people and has quickly gained a reputation as a friendly and helpful spot with many returnees. The iona is situated in Derry City and is close to all attractions eg city walls(6 mins walk) city centre(10 mins). perfect for the overnight or weekend tripper.cead mile failte ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iona Inn Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing