We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arkle House B and B
Ranked #12 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

I can only agree with all the other reviews, lovely house, good food and friendly and helpful hosts. First class.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primroseCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    36
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
56
71
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

I stayed at Arkle House for a weekend as I was attending a wedding. Immediately I was made to feel at home by Sally, the landlady. She was helpful, kind and struck a perfect balance between being the consumate host whilst ensuring that visitors had their own space and privacy.

Arkle House is a family run B&B and it feels like it. Comfy beds, superb breakfasts and great tips on the area. The city centre is only 5 minutes away and, being just outside was perfect.

I thoroughly reccomend Arkle House to you all!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

We both really enjoyed staying here. The food was fantastic and there was plenty of it. The owners Gerry and Sally made us both very welcome and were lovely people. Gerry himself offered to pick me up which i felt was an extremely kind and thoughtful act. The accommadation was fab and cozy and quiet, there was a beautiful garden.I was very impressed that there was both internet ,and fully equipped kitchen facilities for their guests use. all in all i would come here again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernIrelandElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downpatrick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

8 girls stayed in the arkle house for one night, e had stayed there before and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in going back again! rooms are comfortable and accomadated us well having two rooms for our party of 8. terry and sally were extremely friendly and helpful going as far as to leave some of us to the train station when we were leaving. overall a great b and b to stay with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maireadc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

Stayed for a night with 8 girls, have been once before, Sally and Terry are lovely!! Great breakfast, great rooms and great craic!!! they couldnt do enough for their guests, even gave us a lift into town the next day!! Very friendly people!! Would recommend! They dont even mind a bita choir practice at 3am ;) Thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREATSTAYDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

well this is are 2nd trip to derry and both times we have stayed in arkle very good b&b to stay very good hosts terry and sally great breakfast lovely rooms no bad points at all will defo be back

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

i started staying in arkle house 2002 i spent couple years working up there only returning home at weekends.all i would say is it was a home from home ,TERRY &SALLY realy could not do enough for me ,they made me welcome to there home and what a lovley home . rooms allways very clean great food and very freindly staff ,FIRST CLASS .since then i have returned for week long break with wife great new years break, also my daughter and partner have stayed and deff be going back ( read review best week ) my son and partner have just returned from second stay they loved it

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
2.1 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#8 of 47 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkle House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkle House B and B

Property: Arkle House B and B
Address: 2 Coshquin Road, Derry BT48 0ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkle House B and B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkle House described in the original brochure as a "Gentleman's residence", was built around 1900. The property has been recently refurbished, with great care taken to maintain the original charm and ambiance of this lovely old building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arkle House B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkle House B And B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing