We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arkle House B and B
Ranked #12 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, Ireland
1 review
“Homely Welcome”
Reviewed December 11, 2008

The hotel is lovely with a homely feel to it. The owners Sally and Terry are lovely people who made me feel totally at home since I lived there for over 2 weeks. The breakfast is elaborate with a wide range of choice from fruits, yogurts to a fully cooked breakfast etc. The kitchen facility provided on the floor (has all the cooking facility) is handy for people who would like to cook the evening meals if the stay is longer. There is a restaurant as well right across the road for meals.
Overall I would say that my experience at the Arkle house was very good and would recommend it to everyone who visits Derry.

  • Liked — Warm and friendly stay
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maliniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    36
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
56
71
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2008

we visited this b&b as a last minute thing and it was a very pleasent stay. the owners sally and terry were very welcoming. a very cosy and pretty place, and the bedrooms were beautiful. would recommend to anyone. fearon family from london.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank dani-belle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Room was a smaller than we had hoped for but comfortable.
Hosts Terry and Dally were very friendly and there was a good breakfast (loved the wheaten bread).
Within 3 minutes walk is Rafters pub/restaurant which is excellent and well priced for evening meals.
The house has heaps of old world charm and we are glad that we stayed there,

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John and Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Booked in July for September - no booking available when we arrived on a Saturday afternoon. We were advised that we had been onbooked to other accommodation without our knowledge - when Arkle House checked they had booked for the wrong night. With no booking available Arkle House offered to book somewhere else for us which they did which was to cost 30GBP extra - this cost to be borne by us. We declined. After argueing for our deposit we finally drove on to Port Stewart where we were able to get accommodation. Could not recommend.

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — Terrible parking available
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 12Dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

I just spent the weekend in this beautiful bed and breakfast. The family room was spacious with a lovely view over the garden. Our two teenagers were delighted to have internet access and our 10 year old son enjoyed playing in the garden. Breakfast was excellent with a great variety.

  • Liked — The spacious bedroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Arkle house is very cozy and has a warm friendly atmosphere. I stayed here for 6 weeks in 1997. At the time my company had sent me to Londonderry to run the call center across the street from the location. Sally and Terry were wonderful hosts. The breakfast was amazing and really made me feel at home. I caught a cold while I was there and Sally ensured that I had an oil lamp with Eucalyptus oil burning by my bed, they really gave me the royal treatment.
Darla
Dallas, Texas, USA

  • Stayed October 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darla70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Not long returned from staying in arkle house for five days. From the moment we steped foot into the home we were greeted with a warm & friendly atmosphere.

We were located in very spacious room with en suite facilities as well as ample storage for all our belongings.
We had a large double bed & one single bed both beds were very comfortable & relaxing & we enjoyed good nites sleep.

The bathroom facilities were excellent & very clean and spacous which gave us the option of our en suite shower and wash basin or enjoying a relaxing bath in the comunal bathroom down the landing.

Breakfast was very satisfing and left us very full for the rest of the day we found ourselfs not eating to late afternoon.! very well cooked and presented enjoyed in a very cosy room.

Overall our stay in arkle house with terry and sally was very pleasurable we were made very welcoming and we cannot wait to return to visit londonderry once again,and will 100% be returing to arkle house to stay.

David & Sarah-Jane.

  • Liked — the homely atmosphere.
  • Disliked — having to leave.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dave-sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.9 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkle House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkle House B and B

Property: Arkle House B and B
Address: 2 Coshquin Road, Derry BT48 0ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkle House B and B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkle House described in the original brochure as a "Gentleman's residence", was built around 1900. The property has been recently refurbished, with great care taken to maintain the original charm and ambiance of this lovely old building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Arkle House B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkle House B And B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing