We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arkle House B and B
Ranked #11 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at Arkle House for 6 nights and had a great experience. The owner "Sally" was a wonderful hostess. She showed us to our room, the room was comfortable and clean, and we had access to other common rooms including a mini kitchen area. Breakfast was excellent each day. Our daughter was attending an event at the university and Arkle House was conveniently located 1 km away. We found that it was well located for access to all the activities in the area. Sally, thank you for contributing to our wonderful visit to Derry.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarie_Dave_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

we stayed at this b&b overnite as we were in londonderry for my daughter,s graduation. we were welcomed by the lady of the house (sally) who showed us are room, we were realy surprise how reasonable it was .the rooms were very nice ,clean and had everything that we needed. the breakfast we had was great,would def go back and stay in arkle house! thanku very much for havein us

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I were staying in Temple Patrick for a few nights at the Hilton. We fell in love with Derry and wanted to stay close to the town. From there we felt it was a good point for a couple of day trips. The price was very reasonable and it was even during the Clipper events which filled up most of the other accommodations in town. Jane at the tourist board knew most of the B&B owners and highly recommended Sally and Terry.
The rooms were lovely and the breakfast was good quality with a variety of hot breakfast, breads, fruits and yogurt.
What we most liked about Arkle House were the owners, Terry and Sally Cassidy. Every day we were asked what our plans were, they really did not want us to miss any of the charms of the city. One day we told them where we were heading and they printed out some places that they thought we would enjoy. They let us know restaurants in town that were having discount nights and had reasonable prices. Jane from the tourist board mentioned to Sally that it was my 40th birthday and Sally put a candle in my boiled egg and sang Happy Birthday to me.
On the night before we left we came back to the B&B and sat in the sitting room having great conversation with Sally and Terry and another couple staying at the B&B, Brendan and Marie.
Sally and Terry really made us feel like part of the family as opposed to just guests. They are AWESOME! We are planning on doing the trip again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerryGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Owners helpful and friendly. Had a small room that was very nice and clean. The breakfast the following day was great and a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbamara07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Thank you to Sally the owner for a relaxing, welcoming stay in a beautiful B&B that is very well located

Room Tip: Very comfortable single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queretaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Arkyle House is a lovely place to stay. It's welcoming, clean and comfy. We had a lovely room with a double & two single beds, which were very comfortable. Our bathroom was clean and stocked with plenty of towels, loo rolls, shower gel, soap and moisturiser. We had a wardrobe with plenty of hangers and shelf space. There wasn't a hairdryer, but I asked and one was found for me. Breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful. The kitchen area was great with a hob, microwave, fridge and table. There was also a computer.
The location was good for us as it was near to town and our friends. The airport is only 15 minutes away.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Arkle House is a very welcoming place to stay. Met both hosts who were very welcoming. Breakfast was a very tasty start to our day. The communal kitchen was a quirky add-on to make a nice cup of tea. I would recommend this place to people wishing to visit the North West. It is convenient to amenities. It is convenient for people wishing to travel further on to Donegal or east to the North Coast. A pleasant stay in a tranquil guest house.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
2.7 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkle House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkle House B and B

Address: 2 Coshquin Road, Derry BT48 0ND, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: $61 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkle House B and B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkle House described in the original brochure as a "Gentleman's residence", was built around 1900. The property has been recently refurbished, with great care taken to maintain the original charm and ambiance of this lovely old building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Arkle House B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkle House B And B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing