We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laburnum Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laburnum Lodge
Ranked #22 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place, great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here last this past May. Although a little out of the city centre, it was nice to stay in a regular suburban type neighbourhood. Derry is small enough that you could walk or take a short cab ride anywhere. Teresa and Donald were great hosts and helpful as we teamed up to find a taxi ride for a reasonable rate to the Innishowen peninsula. Teresa found Vincent the driver for a great deal and affordable for a solo traveller like me. If you stay here, and want have a great experience and beautiful scenery in the Innishowen penninsula and Donegal, ask Teresa to give Vincent a call. I lucked out with beautiful sunny weather.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peregrino00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
57
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We loved our stay at Laburnum Lodge. Theresa was so very welcoming and provided great ideas and advice for what to do while in Derry. It is a quick drive to the city for dinner and tours. Breakfast at Laburnum was delicious - absolutely wonderful. Our room was clean and comfortable, everything we could have wanted. There was plenty of space to park. Theresa was such a lovely host. I would stay again in a heartbeat. I highly recommend Laburnum Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were recommended to stay in this B & B and it far exceeded our expectations. Teresa and Donal welcomed us like we were family going over and above hospitality. We had a busy few days whilst in Derry visiting family for the first time and when we go back again we will definately be staying here. The facilities available were of excellent standard, clean and modern. The breakfast was lovely and they were very accommodating to fit around our busy schedule. Don't even consider staying anywhere else as you won't get better!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hosts of the lodge are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and the bedroom was comfortable. Really enjoyed the hospitality at this lodge. The restaurant recommended was the best in town and very popular. The directions to go to and from the Lodge were clear. Internet access readily available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couple1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

So glad we discovered Teresa and Donal's excellent Laburnum Lodge. Incredible hosts who make you feel part of their family. Lovely B&B that is spotlessly clean and great breakfast to wake up too.

Great nights chatting away to them both and we are looking to return as soon as possible.

Lovely part of the world and easy access to both the stunning North Antrim coastline and glorious Donegal.

The Allen clan, Newtownards, Northern Ireland

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifihadafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed two nights here and were more than happy with everything. Donal and Teresa are amazing, lovely hosts who bent over backwards to make sure we had the perfect stay.

When we arrived, we were worried that it was a bit far from the city centre. My husband had been driving a lot over the last few days and really needed a break from that - especially not being used to driving in Europe. We planned to walk to the nearest restaurant, but Donal wouldn't hear of it and dropped us off. Then Teresa arranged for him to drop us off in the downtown the next morning so we wouldn't have to take our car - we didn't even have to ask! It was such a kind thing for them to do - knowing that my husband was stressed about all the driving on the trip and just wanting us to feel comfortable. It was so above and beyond what we expected.

The house here is wonderful. The rooms are clean and very spacious. They also have a lovely TV room with a computer that guests can use. This was huge for us, as we had opted not to take our laptop and it allowed me to check in with family easily. A fantastic touch.

Breakfast was wonderful both days and is served family style, so we got to meet and chat with our fellow travelers. Teresa joined us after the meal each morning and had fantastic suggestions for things to see and do. She also helped us with directions and suggestions before we left for our next destination. Again, she went above and beyond what we expected to make sure we enjoyed our visit.

We would absolutely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Derry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We arrived earlier than expected, but this was no problem, we could put our luggage in the room. Teresa gave us some tips about Derry, where to go and where to park, etc.

We just had a lovely stay, Donal and Teresa were great and are very welcoming!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiArjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.6 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.6 mi away
Arkle House B and B
Arkle House B and B
#12 of 47 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pennyburn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Nightingale House
Nightingale House
#19 of 47 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.0 mi away
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laburnum Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum Lodge

Property: Laburnum Lodge
Address: 9 Rockfield | Madam's Bank Road, Derry BT48 8AU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laburnum Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 300m from the Foyle Bridge and only 5 min drive from City Centre. A large guest lounge with open turf fire and access to outdoor decking area. Tea/coffee making facilities and free PC internet access. All rooms also have free wireless internet access. Private on site parking. Ideal base for touring Donegal/Causeway Coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laburnum Lodge Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing