We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms. Great location.”
Review of Merchant's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merchant's House
Ranked #15 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms. Great location.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Not easy to find. GPS will take you right there and you will probably drive by it the first time. It's the Georgian row house next to the vision eyeglass center. When you do find it, Peter and Joan will probably be around the corner at their other B&B. I think that one is Saddlers House. There will be a note on the front door with directions. You can usually grab a parking spot on the street in front although the streets are jammed. You won't get a ticket. Just drive like the locals and ignore everyone. Rooms were large. Good Internet reception. Close to the Peace Bridge, Walled City, Guildhall and the IRA Museum from the Troubles. Large grocery store down the street. Some good restaurants nearby. Great breakfast. Communal table is enjoyable. Joan's background is Catholic, but she is not a fan of the IRA and doesn't understand why monuments were built to all those "criminals". And she will let you know it. Wasn't my belief, so I was a little irritated at first. Not her fault. Very nice couple.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside away from the street. Good picture of a row house neighborhood from the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
39
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Rooms here are just like in any well kept B&B, some smaller and some larger. What I found interesting was the atmosphere of authenticity. This is the first B&B where I saw a spacious and luxurious sitting room where you can find a useful compilation of books and guides on Ireland. Both the sitting room on the first floor and the dining room on the ground floor are stunning. This is where you would probably like to enjoy your English breakfast and nice chats with other guests as long as you can. Joanne is an extremely friendly host and an enthusiastic story teller. Location is also an advantage: in a quiet quarter, just 10 min away from the City Walls and the Guildhouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirill_Muradov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the Merchants House. Very nice room with large bathroom. Great common area to have a drink and catch up with email. The owner is very nice with wry sense of humor. Made us feel very welcome. Great Irish breakfast each morning. Only problem might getting on the street parking. Easy walking distance to castle, Bogside and restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank oliverpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

ok so I`m biased, I`m originally from Derry and am very proud of my home city and I have a fascination for all things Georgian so Merchant`s House ticked all the boxes. As a family of 4, myself, himself and 2 kids aged 9 and 6, we were assigned the family room in the basement - warm, cosy, welcoming and beautifully decorated. Small bathroom but it`s an old house, there was no bathroom in the 19th century so they have done the best they could with what room they had, no problem whatsoever to us.
The bedroom was probably the kitchen in the old days, the well worn outside steps attested to many a hardworking maid running up and down over the years
We had a key that allowed us to either use the door in the wall in the back courtyard which led out to a laneway to enter and exit or we could go through the present day kitchen and through the main front door - a much nicer way to enter and exit but nice to have both options

Breakfast at the communal table was lovely, nice but simple selection of cereals and fruit followed by a freshly cooked fry. I`m a fairly sociable sort and enjoy chat anyway and luckily the other guests were too but if it`s not your thing it may be intimidating!
The house is 2 minutes walk (or even less!)from restaurants, bars, supermarkets and shops, it is a beautiful historic house with character and the owners are welcoming - highly recommended for something different from the usual boring homogenous accommodation that is all too often the only option

Room Tip: basement room was quiet and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed at the Merchant's house for a night and would have stayed longer, if I could have. An old Georgian house which is beautifully restored. Each room and the common spaces such as the sitting room, dining room and the staircase are unique. The rooms at the back overlook a lovely courtyard. The communal dining table around which a hearty and tasty breakfast is served is certainly my favourite. The only place where guests are encouraged to interact with each other. A sense of a home pervades throughout. I would recommend this B&B wholeheartedly and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose double rooms, especially overlooking the courtyard at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gauri2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A provincial Georgian house restored and furnished sensitively. A host with humour and knowledge of her surroundings. A large table for communal breakfast and good homemade foodstuffs. A sitting room with many original features, comfortable chairs and a selection of books.These are all you need for to make a charming and unique lodgings. Of course the host knits it all together and makes sure everything is perfectly clean and that you are welcomed and treat like a visiting merchant. Ask any question about the house or about Derry and you will be given good suggestions. A great place to stay. A gem. Go now and visit their other premises, "The Saddlers", on your next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBestMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We travelled to Derry with the intention of installing our daughter in the Halls of Residence at Magee Uni, arriving a day early from Cyprus. For the one night. The proprietress, Joan, was extremely accommodating, even providing us with breakfast on arrival, after our long journey, well after the breakfast clear up. We had a large family room in the basement which was very comfortable, and secure. (By the way Joan I know you wont be reading this but I am leaving it here anyway!).
We would have no hesitation recommending the Merchants House, which is an interesting older style building beautifully and tastefully brought into the 21st Century without spoiling any of the character.
On arrival just note that the Queen Street address straddles across an intersection, so if you think you have missed it, just turn around and go back across the junction and you are sure to find it. Its not that we were strangers, we needed a taxi, and he went the wrong way too!
We enjoyed the shared long table for breakfast, which is great to get the conversation going amongst other guests, endless cups of tea or coffee, fresh made, as is the full Irish breakfast - simple, tasty delight.
Be sure to try the wheaten bread, not 'home' made exactly, except if you are from Ireland, which I am; in that case it is 'home' made and very nice too. Thank you Joan - we hope to see you next year again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souniwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
0.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House

Property: Merchant's House
Address: 16 Queen Street, Derry BT48 7EQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Merchant`s House Hotel Derry
Merchant's House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing