We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating hosts, good breakfasts, convenient location but with some comfort flaws”
Review of Merchant's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merchant's House
Ranked #17 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Encino, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very accomodating hosts, good breakfasts, convenient location but with some comfort flaws”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

As their website advertizes, this is not for anyone who has difficulty with stairs. The flights are steep and narrow, the bathrooms in each of our two rooms were very small for one person at a time. Peter is an excellent host who is very helpful and knowlegable and makes the stay more comfortable. The breakfasts are fine with nice choices and freshly prepared as in all B&B's. The location is right close to the city, about a 5 minute drive. We found the street quiet and you have to park on-street until about 9:30 AM. The beds are comfortable but storage space was limited in our rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeopleVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
39
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This B&B is right in the downtown core. Keep that in mind if you want quiet nights and are not used to street noise. It was warm when we stayed so would've liked to have kept the windows open. This wasn't possible as we are not used to street noise. This is not a fault of the B&B, just a fact due to it's location. Our friends stayed in the room between the kitchen and breakfast room. They had no street noise but heard the staff setting the table in the breakfast room in the morning. If you want to sleep in, you might want to ask for a room elsewhere in the house. The house itself is massive, the rooms are quite spacious with the typical exception of the bathrooms. What we now know is that the typical bathroom in Ireland is sized for one person at a time. Breakfasts are freshly prepared and substantial. Peter is extremely helpful with a great map to help you get about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mnyldymidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 13 years ago and decided to stay here again this year with our 4 children. We stayed in the family rooms on the lower level. The rooms were clean, spacious and charming and the beds comfortable. There was even a kitchenette but we didn't use it. Joan and Peter were quite helpful and were ready to assist us whenever we needed. The breakfast was delicious and the children enjoyed sitting at a big table with people from all over. We will most definitely stay here again on our next visit to Derry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShelbyOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenock
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

3rd visit to the Merchants House/Saddlers House in Derry owned by Dr Pyne,as always a quality experience,don't know how he does it but the house has always attracted lovely people from all over the world and Breakfast at the communal dinner table is fantastic,1st time in Derry for my Grandsons,this was really good for them seeing the interaction of all the nationalities!The beautiful ladies who made the breakfast and cleaned were brilliant! thanks girls! see you soon!

Room Tip: Just ask Peter,he will try and accommodate your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhoyGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was so impressed upon arriving and seeing our quarters. We were just above the main floor. The room was very homey feeling, a fireplace, mantle, beautiful oak dresser and balcony overlooking the courtyard full of potted plants. The newly added bathroom was small but I've found that to be true with other B&Bs in Ireland. Wifi connection was excellent. A public PC was available. Sitting room was tastefully decorated in 1850 period when built, formerly a rectory. Cooked Irish Breakfast was very ample and served at a large dining room table that enabled patrons to share information during the meal. The staff was very friendly. Joan and Peter treated us like family. Loved the quaintness and cleanliness. Just a few blocks from the business district and Walled City. The couple apparently operate Saddler House in the vicinity as well. Will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Every aspect of our room was restful. We were 1 flight up from main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Merchant's House and had a lovely time. The room was big, with plenty of places to sit, books to browse, a comfortable bed and lovely art. The wifi barely worked in our room but no problem in the grand sitting room. Breakfast was great, homemade yogurt and stewed fruits. We met other Irish travelers in town for the North Atlantic Fiddler Convention, who encouraged us to attend and we were glad they did. It was fantastic. Everyone at the Merchant's House helped make everything run smoothly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was a lovely house - very historic. The location was very convenient to Peace Bridge, walled city, and the quay. While it was bustling during the day, after 6 pm the town becomes eerily quiet.

Breakfast was good. Staff could have been a little friendlier. Rooms were spacious, but bathroom was tiny. Also, bed was uncomfortable (but I like a softer mattress).

House was being painted while we were there so the sitting room was in disarray, and the house smelled strongly of paint (which was bothersome to allergies).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobycat318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
0.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House

Property: Merchant's House
Address: 16 Queen Street, Derry BT48 7EQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Merchant`s House Hotel Derry
Merchant's House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing