We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review”
Review of 68 Clooney

68 Clooney
Ranked #49 of 188 Restaurants in Derry
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 68 Clooney Restaurant” is the perfect location for lunch or dinner, business or pleasure. The philosophy behind the food on offer is simplicity; it is fresh local produce prepared with a modern twist. The Head Chef Noel Ward and his highly qualified team have developed an imaginative and exciting menu which uses only the finest local ingredients, ensuring that each dish is packed full of flavour and the dishes speak for themselves.The quality of the food offering has recently been recognized through the Northern Ireland Hotel Federation’s Hotel & Guest House Restaurant Awards, with ’68 Clooney’ being awarded the coveted first prize. The rationale behind Noel’s award winning menu is based on seasonality and aims to showcase the quality of our local produce and deliver on the ‘real local food’ experience. The award winning menu is now available to sample at “68 Clooney”.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant review”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very good service and food. I was eating alone and felt that a table in the centre of the room was not appropriate. Only a small minus, but relevant to me. The food was excellent all round, but I was not asked if I would like alternative veg. They offer good all round service, but missed a chance to impress. They need to consider what the customer might like extra to what they offer be it table or alternatives added to their menu. All round great food and good value for money

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    10
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Family Meal”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food was off a very high standard I hadn't a chicken Maryland in years and it was all lovely. My husband really enjoyed the fillet steak and the children all enjoyed there choices
Would have liked more cereal choices . The staff were so friendly and contentive to all our needs

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food in relaxed environment”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate here two evenings whilst staying at hotel. Really good food & lovely friendly waitress. Food is very reasonable price for the standard delivered. Would definitely eat here again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slinkykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not worth trying..!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ordered Surf & Turf: 4oz Fillet Steak, Pan Fried Scallops & Prawns
in Garlic Butter, Battered Squid Rings
& Wild Mushrooms.

Mushrooms were not "wild", sauce was cold, squid rings proved to be ONION rings (!!), and service was appalling.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mijansso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at 68 Clooney, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am disappointed by your review as this was already discussed with the leader of your group. Your party did not get the service they should of but this was not helped by them being over 30mins late for the booking as a result of 'whiskey tasting'. The dish you refer to does have all those components and the squid is served with the other seafood in a small dish on the side. The onion rings are on top of all our steaks as a garnish and are not intended to be squid rings.
As I have not discussed this incident directly with yourself please contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
2 reviews
“good food and good service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

food was excellent and service from the staff was excellent alone with a lovely panist in the background

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 68 Clooney also viewed

 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to 68 Clooney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing