We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big heart of Derry”
Review of Nightingale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nightingale House
Ranked #20 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big heart of Derry”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here, sadly only for 3 nights. Our host Isabel was so welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Part of the great holiday experience for us was the craic with Isabel.
The house is just outside the city, so nice and quiet at night but also very easy to get in and out of the city centre. Ideally located for our tour of the north coast.
We are already planning to return for a longer stay next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with a group of friends for the Jazz Festival. It is spotlessly clean and modern. Our charming host, Isobel, laid out a lovely breakfast each morning. Nothing was too much bother. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous place this is. Great views and good location just outside the centre of Derry. Isobel is a great host and is very knowledgeable of the area. Extremely helpful and full of fun. Rooms are so comfortable with lots of extras thrown in for us ladies. This is seriously better than a five star hotel. Great base for touring too. Her recommendations have been spot on for restaurants, bars and attractions. Breakfast selection is amazing!! Feel very spoiled which is lovely. Can't recommend this place enough. Brilliant!! Ill definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionamarshall25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a great welcome and Isobel made our stay very funny and nice. The whole house is incredibly stylish and eclectically furnished but with an amazing warm and pleasant atmosphere. In the living room you can sitt on the big sofas and chat with the owner surrounde by book and magazines at your disposal. The rooms are very big and bright and very clean.
For breakfast you will find everything you need and if not, don't hesitate to ask... Isobel will surely prepare it.
The B&B is not near the city centre, so you will need a taxi or your own car to move but it is in a nice and quiet area where you can relax and have a great time!
Thanks Isobel (sorry if the name is not well written), he had a great time there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had a fabulous stay with a lovely lady in a lovely, cosy, comfortable room. If only I could have put Isabelle in a suitcase and brought her home! She is such a delight, as is her heart-filled home. Nothing is ever too much trouble for her. Perfect host in beautiful setting. Easy ride to downtown Derry. Isabelle, you're welcome in my Ottawa home anytime, although it's not as nice as yours.

Room Tip: I had the room in the front and really like it. Big, bright and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in the nightingale with my daughter it was a very pleasant stay spotless warm quiet and isobel couldn't do enough for you I would defiantly go back it had everything you needed thanks Isobel from jackie and Lauren

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Isobel is a wonderful host and has some great stories to tell, the rooms were wonderfully decorated and were very clean. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. Nightingale is in a wonderful location overlooking the city. Could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Take your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.6 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 43 in Derry
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
2.7 mi away
Serendipity House
Serendipity House
#6 of 43 in Derry
288 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale House

Property: Nightingale House
Address: 6 Larcom Drive, Derry BT48 8PP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nightingale House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nightingale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nightingale House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing