We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Custom House Restaurant - CLOSED

Custom House Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Irish, European, British, International, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I called in at noon to make a reservation for evening dinner and was advised that they did not take bookings but I would have no problem at 7 pm. When my party turned up we were asked for our booking! I related what I had been told but was advised that we would have to wait an hour and a half. Needless to say we did not wait and I will not return. Seems somewhat disorganised and made a mess of our evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank KenCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam T, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi KenCountyDown,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We appreciate all customer feedback as it helps us to constantly improve the guest experience here at Custom House.

booking policy here at Custom House.
At the weekends we divide our restaurant in regards to what is available to book.
We book out one half leaving the other half on a first come first served basis. This helps us to seat and accommodate as many guests that come through our doors as possible.
This is why you were asked for your booking when you arrived.

If you were unable to book it was due to the reservation slots being fully taken.
I apologise that this was not explained to you on the phone before you arrived.

We hope to have an opportunity to look after you again in the near future.
If you wish to book a table please call me on (+44)2871 373366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    113
    32
    31
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Special occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I went as a guest so didn't pay for the meal. The food is very good: great choice on the menu, very well presented, good size portions, so two courses would be fine. It'd would be a pity to miss out on the dessert course though as the ones I tried were delicious - I was there with a group and we shared a taste of each other's food. I loved the decor too and the layout of the restaurant with a pub-style lobby downstairs and the dining rooms upstairs. It really felt as if you were being treated to a special night out. It felt expensive and somewhere you'd go to mark a big occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ainehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam T, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi AnneHannah,

Thanks for the great feedback about your night out with us here at Custom House.

I will pass your great feedback onto the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Was shopping at the Foyleside then when for something to with no plans made when to another restaurant first but was told we would have to wait 30 minutes people were walking in past us and getting a table right away so went and checked was told that I had not booked but went I said about people coming in and getting a table that they were regulars and was told I would have to wait another 40 minutes at that we left and went to Custom House busy place staff bend over backwards to help and had a nice friendly chat with them will be back also had a lovely meal well cooked and relaxing place to be in full marks to manangement & staff

Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam T, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi CarlieM,

Thanks for the great feedback about your time here at Custom House. I will pass your great feedback to our waiting staff who strive to deliver exceptional and unobtrusive service to all guests and will be pleased to hear your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Forget the VAT and enjoy the Custom House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went for lunch recently for the second time in this restaurant which is in a beautifully restored mid 19th century Custom House which used to handle all the big VAT bills for the UK. It is situated convenient to many of the sights and shops of Londonderry.There are a number of private function rooms as well as the bar and upstairs restaurant. We had an excellent, filling and tasty meal of two courses which came to £25 for the two of us. My wife found the pork belly with raisin sauce delicious and I had one of the best beefburgers I have had in a long time. Both came with a choice of side orders and mine included salad. We both chose crème brulee for our dessert. This was a very generous portion and beautifully flavoured. The service was friendly and helpful and our overall impressions were very good. It is now firmly on our itinerary of hostelries.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Desmond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam T, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Thomas,

Thanks for the great feedback about your meal with us here at Custom House. I will be passing your comments back to our team here who enjoy hearing of our happy customers.

The next time you're in town we look forward to looking after you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I ate here 2 nights ago with my family an friends. I won't be back!! I ordered sirloin rare. You would have needed a saw to cut it. Waitress told Chef and we were told that we didn't want to hear his reply!! And that the Head Chef was off til the weekend!! Very Poor standards and total lack of Professionalism!! Would strongly recommend staying away!! We spent £350 with no recompense whatsoever.

Helpful?
8 Thank joe90Derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam T, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi joe90Derry,

Thank you for your feedback.
I apologise for your experience and for the lack of professionalism that you received.
This is definately not what we are about here at Custom House.
I have sent you a private message to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House Restaurant also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing