We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Front Desk Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Front Desk Staff!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is quite dated and not located in city center, but it was more than adequate for our 1 night stay as we travelled through Ireland. The front desk girls were second to none. Nothing was too much trouble and they took great pains to give directions to anywhere we wanted to go. The restaurant was "okay". The staff were not Irish and this was disappointing; travelers from other countries want the "real Irish" service!
The hotel is in need of updating, but everything was in working order and met our needs totally. Unfortunately the fitness and pool were not open early on the weekend, therefore we could not avail of this feature. The parking is a bit dodgy, depending on whether or not there are cars parallel parked behind your parking spot...which is allowed. This results in difficult manouvering to get out. Would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontocanucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    116
    53
    19
    23
See reviews for
117
153
8
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night, after leaving a local B&B. The room and bathroom were very comfortable - great beds. We took advantage of the sauna and pool as well and had a very good dinner in the restaurant. My first experience with garlic potatoes in ireland, which seemed to have been deep fried and then drizzled with garlic butter! Delicious - but probably not very good for me:) Overall, consistent, good quality as expected from a Best Western.

Room Tip: Best to take a room in the newest section of the hotel. The hallway in the older section seemed a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD891950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed at the white horse hotel on Friday the 20th June in the suite a treat from my hubby for my bday
not far from town a few mins in the car
hotel is gorg
staff r fantastic very professional caring and nothing to much trouble
our suite was beautiful had a huge bed, sofa, tv, bathrobe slippers, jacuzzi bath, shower, all the wee extras like hot chocolate etc
WiFi was great worked without any problems
restaurant food was gorg and again the staff were fantastic
breakfast was lovly plenty of it
the hotel is perfect for couples, family's, singles, weddings and functions
will be recommending to everyone
thank u whitehorse for a lovly memorable stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Check in fast and friendly. Rooms nice and modern and clean.
Yes located out of town but quiet enough even with the road.
Bed comfy and food nice. Internet kept crashing though.
The room doors bang shut so you can hear people leaving / coming in.
I would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteBrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Was pleased with room clean tidy very pleasant. .overall look of hotel was good..but very disappointed even thoug we were told as residents we could order in the bar as restaurant was busy. .we were happy enough until after ordering our first drink we couldn't order for at least half an hour as a bus tour was in.after 45mins later we were finally served.meal was bland.unappealing and atomsphere was dire we went upstairs shortly after as we didn't enjoy the eve at all :-(

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Fran,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry you had to wait to be served but as with all establishments a waiting list was in place due to the large amount of booking we had in the hotel. We had a large number of pre booked guests in addition to the bus stop and while we do serve food in the bar it too had a waiting list. I will ensure this is communicated better to our guests in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is very well situated and accoutred. The staff are most pleasant and helpful, friendly and polite. The room was comfortable with very clean facilities and nicely decorated. The restaurant staff went out of their way to make you welcome and help you. The food was good on the whole although they had run out of what I wanted one night and the alternative wasn't wonderful. The breakfasts, though were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank vadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My friend and I stopped at the Best Western, Derry during our whistle stop tour of Ireland. It was a late booking and worked out reasonable well. The hotel is on the outskirts of town and not walkable to the city centre so you need a car. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and quite reasonable for the price. Its a little bland but not too bad, particularly if you're passing through and perhaps on business. Not particularly great for couples. There was plenty of parking and its convenient if you're travelling by car. The wifi signal in our room was not particularly good - the reception suggested there was a network problem with all their hotels at the time - but this is something you might want to check if wifi is important for your trip. We didn't eat there and only had the room for the night. Overall, decent accommodation for travellers passing through and you have a car.

Room Tip: You might want to check that your room has decent wifi signal before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We have had ongoing problems with our WiFi which I am happy to say has been upgraded and improved. I do hope you will return and spend More time in Ireland and I hope you enjoyed your whole trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
5.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Address: 68 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away.With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing