We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was good for a wee break, we went for two nights. Lovely rooms. Pool was a bit dated but ok. Didn't try the food but it was packed when we arrived. Only issue is that its a good 10/15minute drive for Londonderry centre which was annoying. But overall happy with our stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chantellew55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    109
    49
    18
    22
See reviews for
109
140
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus uK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Been a while since we stayed here if I am being honest. Since our last visit the Hotel has had a major facelift and the rooms have been refurbished. The hotel has also been upgraded to a 4**** status.

The staff were always the best and continue to be the best. We see the biggest improvement in the state of the rooms. We are just in a standard room this time but they are very impressive compared to how they were before.

Impressed so far with the service. Some improvements:

- Rooms refurbushed. New furniture and bed linen and cushions etc. Fresh flowers in the room.

- Bathrooms refurbished

- There was a home made cookie in a little bak with a note 'Hand Baked for you by our Pastry Chef Gillian'- nice touch

- It is the Easter Weekend and there was a Cadbury Easter Egg in a box waiting for us

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skinkaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir,
Firstly welcome back and thank you for your kind comments. We do appreciate it when customers appreciate the smaller touches. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay.
Happy Easter
ps don't tell anyone but there will be more chocolate eggs at breakfast, check under your cup .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Myself and two friends stayed here on Sunday the 13th of April for a night away. The rooms are pretty below average just because there old. Plenty of space though considering there was three in a room. The shower was cornered off properly so the whole bathroom was soaked. Good water pressure though. The pillows where very hard and uncomfortable. Upon arrival reception where very pleasant, all the staff where very nice. We had a treatment (massage) the beautican was very nice too. Dinner was good, although restaurant was very quiet and had no atmosphere. This hotel is based in eglinton, so it's around £8 in a taxi to town. This didn't bother us because we just wanted a night away. I thought this hotel would have been more lively on a Sunday night but it was very quiet and not much happening. Overall it was a good stay and good value for what we paid. Unfortunately I don't think I'd come back unless the hotel had a revamp. On a positive note, staff overall where very helpful and make the hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MC_8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review and your comments. I am surprised that you found the hotel quite as we had live music/free buffet and a photobooth in the bar that night as a thank you to our staff and customers. We had over 50 people dancing the night away until 2am and it was a great night. To be honest most Sundays nights are quite but this one certainly was not. I actually spoke to 1 of your party when you returned from town and said there was music in the bar but was told you wanted an early night. I do agree we are not in city centre and to help this we now offer a free taxi into town so we hope o welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Myself and my Wife stayed at This Hotel for 4 Nights at the Beginning of April, The hotel wile set in realy the Middle of Nowear was a Old Fasioned building with quite afew add ons to it The Receptionist was Very Presant, The walk to our room was Very Long from Reception However you could go in and out via the Leisure Centre that was far quicker, Our Room itself was a good size and well Furnished with lots of Cupboard space The bathroom was very small for the room size and not venterlated in any way other than a Fan that kept cutting out, The Shower was Not screened off Propoly meaning that every time it was used it soaked the entire bathroom floor, and the warter pressure was not to good. However we lived with it, We had read on other websites that the Breakfast wilst Not Included in the Room Price was around £6.95 However it turned out to be £10.95 Each per Day witch was a Little steep considering that the Menu was Realy Very Limited room servise also cost £2.50 per person per tray However if it was for a Meal it went up to £3.50 per tray per Person which realy is Very Expensive Indeed the Bed and The Pillows wear Very Hard and you as the Paying Guest wear NOT Allowed to bring Any Food or Drink back to your Own Payed for Room Unless bought from the Hotel Itself to whitch we Found Totally Rediculouse Cosidering that the Hotels Policy (only found in the room) Stated that any Items of Food or Drink Found in Rooms would be Confiscated by The Staff and extra Charges may Apply ! We found these Rules and Prices to be Northink more than Way over the Top from a Paying Guests point of View ! It also just go's to Prove that Not everythink you read in either Reviews Hotels own Discriptions and the Many hotel Booking sites these days are Not Always either true or up to Date, other than these few points its not a bad little Hotel.

Room Tip: Read carefully regarding this Hotels Breakfast costing a Extra £10.95 per day On Top Of the Room Rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. As you suggest it is always better to book direct with the hotel rather than though 3rd party sites. Our full breakfast is £10.95 if not prebooked with your room rate and it includes a selection from our cold buffet, fresh fruit salad, prunes or fresh pineapple, cheese and hams, croissants and muffins, cereals and yogurts and choose of juices, as well as a full cooked buffet of sausages, bacon, scrambled and fried eggs, black pudding white pudding, mushrooms, potato bread, tomato, tea/coffee and toast. I am glad you read our guest directory in the room but I am sorry you missed the section highlighted the range of pillows available if the ones in your room are not to your taste.
Our room service charge is only £2.50 so if you were charged more please contact us and we will refund you.
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Visited on business for just one night, the hotel is very convenient for the air port being just a 10 minute taxi ride away. We arrived late and the reception staff could not have been any more friendly and helpful, we explained that we had an early plane to catch and would require an early breakfast, she arranged that and a taxi to take us to the airport.
The three course set evening meal was delicious, I had quail egg with black pudding, followed by duck breast with marmalade sauce and garlic potatoes and finished with a trio of deserts and coffee.
The bedroom was very nicely decorated, large comfy bed with every thing you needed, very warm and cosy, bathroom was scrupulously clean with bath and overhead shower, and plenty of hot water. There was even home made shortbread biscuits, luxury Suchard hot chocolate, tea and coffee provided. I would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

What more can I say about this fabulous hotel except that it just gets better & better with each visit. The only thing I hate about our visits is that we have to leave.

Looking forward to our next visit on 27th April, can't come quick enough. Hope to see Jill &Mary next time as they were both absent on our last trip.

Congratulations to Tyler on reaching the next stage of (hope I'm right) Receptionist of the Year. Good luck for next stage Tyler, I know you'll do well. Better also mention Amanda, the newest recruit on reception. Thanx for looking after us on checkout 30th March, see you again soon.

Thanx also to Keith , & all staff throughout the hotel, too numerous to mention individually. You are all exceptional. See you all very soon. Carmel

Room Tip: No need for tips as all rooms are excellent. I think we've stayed in most of them over the last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepsi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

After deciding to treat my sister in law to a wee night away for her birthday I started ringing round all the usual spa resorts in n. Ireland. The cost for one nights stay with evening meal, breakfast and a spa treatment was upwards of £300 which I felt was just too much, now im not sure how I came about finding the white horse but when I rang them the girl was really helpful and told me about their here comes the girls package which was a nights b&b, 4course evening meal, spa treatment, cocktail on arrival and use of the leisure facilities, the check in was 3pm but we wanted to do a bit of shopping in the city so arrived very early to see if we could leave our bags, we where told our room was ready and that we could have it right away, the room was basic but very clean, there are home baked cookies in the rooms made by the hotel which I thought was a lovely touch, soup is available in the restaurant for new guests checking in also, another lovely gesture, we booked a table in the restaurant for that evening and to say it was an outstanding meal is an understatement, food is absolutely beautiful, cannot say a bad thing about it, there was entertainment in the hotel that night so we didn't have to go out at all, the facials where lovely, the breakfast was great , free wifi, what can I say, will be back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cam149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
4.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
5.7 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.9 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Address: 68 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away.With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing