We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do much better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed at the Best Western White Horse hotel recently with my husband. The hotel is located alongside a very busy dual carraigeway beside a major industrial plant, billowing out fumes. Please be aware if you are staying here that this hotel is located miles from the city centre. The hotel itself is pleasant enough and would be ok for the business traveller for an overnight stay. Overally fairly mediorce in terms of food and accommodation. Definately not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Hilary T,
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am disappointed by the low score you gave us which appears to be as a result of our location. We are not a city center hotel and do not advertise that we are. We are only 5 miles from the city offering all the attitubes city center hotels can not, ample free car parking,large swimming pool & leisure center as well as sceanic walks surrounded by green fields. A drive into the city will only take 10mins. We are not in an industrial estate and the business you refer too billowing smoke is approx 1mile away from hotel not visible from the hotel not even the roof top.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 521 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lovely clean, comfortable, warm room apart from a cold bathroom. Lighting especially good for night reading. Friendly, helpful staff, especially Dill who looked after us very well during our meal on Saturday night making us feel genuinely welcome. We'll be back.
K.and E.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallivanter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just spent the night at this hotel. This is the second time I have been there and it was just as good. The staff are so friendly and helpful, they can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. The restaurant is amazing and the food is the best I have had for a long time. I will be going back as soon as possible.
I didn't use the spa on this visit but I used it the last time and it was really good.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandmaandgranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

10 minutes from Derry, good comfortable quiet hotel. Great gym and swimming pool. Staff excellent friendly, very helpful. Food in the bar was better than many good restaurants I've eat in. Nice big fire near reception. Close to City of Derry airport. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45Bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Great value. Close to Londonderry. Good swimming pool etc. Food excellent. Looks beautiful at Christmas time. Service perfect. No complaints about this hotel at all. Infact we are returning in a few months.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlylucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Santa left the 'Shop and be pampered' break for myself, my husband and 2 daughters age 9 and 13. We went on Boxing Day for 2 nights
We thoroughly enjoyed our break! Staff are all local!! Staff were extremely friendly, pleasant and made us feel like nothing was too much trouble.

Room was quite nice. It was very clean, but windows were a bit draughty and with 60mph winds, a little noisey. As a family room my daughters were really pleased with not only tea and coffee making facilities but there was also Hot Chocolate!! We had fresh fruit and biscuits left by housekeeping on 2nd day which was a pleasant surprise. Lots of clean towels awailable and a nite stating fresh milk available for tea/coffee which was much appreciated!

Main Car Park at rear of hotel is unattractive but not too far to walk with luggage.

Breakfast and dinner in 68 Clooney restaurant was first class! No complaints, only praise from us all! Again nothing was too much bother.

Ideal location if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of City but only a 10 min drive into Derry City centre.

We all had Spa treatments and the therapists were friendly, polite and very professional. I would call it a beauty room and not a spa though. Only 2 wee box rooms for treatments at leisure centre-which were lovely but I definitely would not describe it as 'A Spa'

Definitely would return again,

Room Tip: We were on ground floor but there was No lift that I could see, only stairs. If you have small child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T13avy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Truly in the middle of nowhere. 15 min. to Derry. Our room was just okay. Nice view of a back garden. Very nice housekeeping staff. Front desk seems overwhelmed and curt. The restaurant was, also, just okay. There was a lot of hallway noise during the night. Would not recommend this place.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Spainin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Spainin,
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies. We do try to minimise corridor noise as much as possible but sometimes other guests can be inconsiderate. We are only 5 miles from the city and should only take 5-10 mins by car. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
3.9 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel

Address: 68 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $60 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away. With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing