We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A group of us stayed at the hotel to attend the recent Flash Harry concert/Xmas banquet. Do not be fooled by the exterior - it hides a high standard of service, excellent food and very comfortable rooms. The reception was bright and welcoming with the open fire lit and seating comfortable. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and well warmed: the home-made shortbread went well with the tea/coffee provided: great on a day when the weather was less than welcoming! Bathrooms were clean and well equipped with full sets of towels (including face), luxury soaps, shampoo & shower gel. Beds were very comfortable and there were sufficient spare power points for the multitude of electronic devices and chargers we all carry with us these days. Current magazines and periodicals were provided for the guest in their rooms to browse. The food provided was well cooked, hot and in very large portions: the Assiette of Xmas deserts was excellent. While the wine list was limited, the staff were very accomodating and able to provide alternatives from a cellar with very well chosen Riojas, Sauvignon Blanc and some very hearty Lebanese wines. There was an excellent variety in the breakfast menu and staff were willing to provide alternatives if requested: sausages are excellent. Light refreshments are served in the seating area in reception and especially good when served by the open fire - hot gammon/beef sandwiches were very much appreciated on a wet and windy day. We didn't have time to use the well equipped leisure centre which has a full gym, 20m swimming pool and fitness rooms: these will be very useful if you take advantage of a superb restaurant menu.

Room Tip: Rooms on the eastern side are quieter. If you want an impressive suite, ask for Donnybrewer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Steven C,
Thank you for your review of our recent Flash Harry event. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return and get a chance to use our leisure facilities. We still have a number of other events over the festive period, including our new years eve Casino royal. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 521 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

EVERY time I stay here and I try to make it at least once a month, a new item appears on the horizon. Cannot blame Keith and his staff for lack of innovation ans as usual I looked forward to checking in on Friday. It should have been wednesday but due to a work related matter I had to stay on monday too so changed arrangements, another thing which went with a minimum of fuss...thank you Tyler. However it was great to see Jill back after her recent wedding and Keith at reception, where we received our key card and meal vouchers and one for afternoon tea...thats a new one for me. However, checked in , a bit of a wash, a dink in the bar with the lovely Lauren and into the restaurant. We were eating off the three course for £19.99 menu and the quality and portions are the usual superb We ate off this menu for next 3 nights a choice of 6 starters 6 mains and dessert. Tip ...try the Daube of beef...you could eat it with a spoon its so tender and the venison pie was to die for. One night i had rabbit spring roll and venison pie and named it Bugs Bunny and Bambi....however we went in ond out of the City with our friendly taxi man from Foyle Delta...great clean cars and friedly banter. we stayed in the hotel on monday and had the afternoon tea. If you get the chance do this. a tray came out, cloth napkins, table cloth , the works pot of tea and coffee and a selection of freshly made finger sandwiches smoked salmon and chicken tikka, scones with cream and jam, and pastries....gorgeous........there was entertainment in the bar on fri and sat night and the duo on saturday were superb. they are called Them Two and stayed to sing Happy birthday to Lady Clooney (my wife Carmel) whos birthday was on Sunday. A great weekend ansd counting the days (14) to our pre Christmas visit...........

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael_murtagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Everything about this place is spot on. The staff, Amanda and Tyler, in fact all the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food and service in the restaurant is excellant. I was seriously impressed by the standard of everything. Its their attention to detail that will ensure a return visit from me. For example, in the room on my tray for tea and coffee there was a little note saying that I can ring down and get fresh milk. I had an early start so to be able to get fresh milk was so nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The staff at The White Horse are the most friendly & helpfull hotel staff, we have stayed in many a hotel but nothing will live up to our awesome stay we have at The White Horse Derry.
Maybe that's why we keep coming back this will be our 6th time.
Dining is a definitely an excellent experience the food is out of this world.
The in house staff went out of there way after my wee girl took sick on one of the nights
Nothing was a problem they sorted out her bed & even took he night wear and washed,
Ironed and returned them to our room while we relaxed at the pool a big thank you again to your fabulous staff.
Keep up the good work,can't wait to return.
I recommend you check it out for yourself you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Have not had a bad room on any of stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have stayed in the hotel twice this month for training programmes and both times I have had a great stay. I had been told prior to my trips that the staff are friendly, helpful and there is a family feel in the hotel. This is very much true. Being in a large group of various nationalities language was difficult at times, but the staff went over and beyond to help make their stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. It may be quite a distance outside of the city of Derry, but taxis are readily available 24/7 and reception will book you one at any time. Also, i want mention the housekeeping staff, i am writing this on behalf of the groups attending the training's and they told me that they are the best housekeeping they ever met!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hcmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed last weekend at the hotel on their "Awesome Autumn Deal" and what an Aweome weekend it was! On arrival we were greeted by the loveliest receptionist Amanda who had a lovely surprise for us in that the suite we booked in our deal had been upgraded to the Bridal Suite.2 Evening meals and full breakfasts where also in the deal. What a First Class Restaurant, right from the staff that served the meal to the food itself and in the manner it was presented. Complements to the chef!! From the receptionists to the restaurant staff and also to the cleaning staff we where always greeted with a warm ,lovely, and friendly manner making you feel very welcome( Like their lovely open fire in the main reception).Everything was to a very high standard even the complementary tea we received on our departure was such a lovely treat! Highly recommended to anyone looking a lovely weekend break incorporating a little shopping in nearby Londonderry, Thanks for Everything hope to see you soon again! Only regret it wasn't a long weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Myself and my family regularly dine at the White Horse Hotel restaurant. And in all the years we have dined there we have never ever had a meal which was not excellent. The staff there are definitely a great asset to the hotel. everyone is so helpful and genuinely pleased to help. I would not hesitate to recommend the White Horse Restaurant to anyone wishing to have a nice meal in good surroundings with excellent food and at very reasonable prices. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
3.9 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel

Address: 68 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $62 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away. With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing