We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind?! not!”
Review of BT48 Apartotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BT48 Apartotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a kind?! not!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lets start with a few good points.great location,cheap price for a penthouse,car parking.
So heres the bad points.quiet a list.first of all the manager who i was dealing with on the phone is not a nice person and gonna cost this business a lot of money.cannot deal with customers.manager asked me to give him a ring 30 mins prior to arrival but as i was driving i had no chance to ring or get my phone as it was in my case.when we arrived i have gave the manager a ring and I GOT SOME TELLING OFF! for not ringing in time!
7 DAYS CANCELATION POLICY! any 3+ star accomodation has a 24 hour cancelation policy!
pure money grabbing.the whole building was empty.its deffo not a 5 star aparthotel.it was clean but absolutely freezing obviously coz the place hasnt been used in ages.rust on kitchen utencils.
bathroom spotless.lighting in rooms not great at all.4 girls trying to get ready.disaster!
oh and my bed was horrible.this cheap single bed was very uncomfortable.so all in its a good cheap accomodation for partying.deffo not 5 star.but guess its £100 a nite so cant expect much

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ano84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    19
    12
    26
See reviews for
31
28
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limavady
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Ideally situated. Man at reception made me feel as if I was a bother to him upon checking in. A smile would have been nice! Apartment 4 on Level 1 has seen better days although very well equipped with cutlery glasses etc. Tv was an old fashioned one with a digi box but we could not get it to work. Foyle taxis across the street were very punctual and friendly drivers got us around the city on a wet and windy night. Staying here was cheaper than a hotel and was fine for an overnight stay! Would stay again but would advise owners not to advertise it as 5 star as this certainly is not the case!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arrived at 12pm expecting to check in as it stated on our email from them that that was check in time. No one there and no one answering phone. Eventually found out check in time had changed to 2pm. They could have contacted us in advance to let us know this but didn't. We booked a river side penthouse appartment. Led to the appartment to find it was roadside, and not the size we booked. Was told that the people in our appartment had decided to stay longer and so they had to move us. We were told that we would still be charged the same amount even though it was worse appartment. No blind on window in lounge, noisey, no working lights in one bedroom, rude reception staff, in need of decorating, balcony door broken. All in all definitely not the five star they advertise it as. On the plus side, the cleaning staff were very good to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DebbieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Derry hotels

Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked here for a trip with friends. Great location, central enough that everything you want is a 10/15 minute walk away but far enough out to miss a lot of the noise of citylife.

Stayed on roadside and not as much noise as expected, good windows block it out.

Will definitely be back, but will be asking for a riverside view next time, as it is ideally situated on the Foyle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DervlaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here recently and must say it was a lovely experience. Apartment was nice and clean with amazing views of the river and also a great location for the city centre. Manager was extremely helpful and courteous. Will definately return..Thanks to all..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murph42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had high hopes for this place as other reviews were so positive. In terms of location, it is very good. However, we had booked 2 apartments on the same booking and on arrival were informed that one of the apartments had been upgraded to a lough view superior apartment in the front building called 'Atlantic Quays'. This was very awkward for us as we were 2 families of four holidaying together and one family was put in an apartment that was in a separate building to the other - requiring a walk through the multi story car park to get to each other and our respective keys could not access each other's apartment block. Not sure why they only upgraded one, I had booked the two together on the same booking, but I couldn't be bothered to complain or try to get another upgrade as we were only staying the one night to see a show in the Waterside Theatre and wouldn't be spending too much time in the apartments. The superior apartment was lovely with great views and very nicely fitted out with flat screen TV, master ensuite etc. The standard apartment was jaded with stained and worn furniture, an old fashioned TV set with a remote that didn't work, there was stained tile grouting in the bathroom, rusted hinges, broken cupboards and the standard of cleanliness was very poor - and there was only one bathroom, which was a bit dingey. The most disappointing thing was that both apartments, even the nicer one, absolutely reeked of stale cigarette smoke. No matter how many windows you opened, the smell was still there. This is very odd because all the apartments have balconies so not sure why people smoke inside - the smell is truly disgusting, but after a while you got used to it only to discover it all over again when you came back to the place after being out for a while. It's not a bad place - great location and quite good facilities, free parking that is really handy to your apartment, the beds are comfy and have lovely quality linen - but both the apartments we ended up with seriously needed a good deep clean and some fresh paint and the standard apartment desperately needed a makeover and some new furniture. At £120 per night it was better value for a family of four than to have 2 rooms in a hotel, but I have to say that I wouldn't pay that again for the standard apartment unless they are redecorated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahhavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungloe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Booked in for midweek break situated right on the docks, lovely walk to town. If facing street can be a bit noisey very secure. Appartments not spotless but clean and comfie. all in all we enjoyed wi fi not avalable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneDungloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
1.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.7 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BT48 Apartotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BT48 Apartotel

Property: BT48 Apartotel
Address: Atlantic Quay 112 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7NR, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — BT48 Apartotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BT48 Apartotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BT48 Apartotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing