We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast baps and tray bakes”
Review of The Coffee House - CLOSED

The Coffee House
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast baps and tray bakes”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really nice wee place with friendly staff and superb range of pastries, cakes and traybakes. Lovely to sit outside on a sunny day with views across the lough

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahhavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoffeeHouse, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
sarahhavlin,

What a glowing recommendation, we can't thank you enough .. Karen is now your official best friend as you mentioned the pastries, cakes and traybakes which she slaves away baking fresh daily. You do take your chance sitting outside with our temperamental weather, but on a fine day it's one of the the best views in the city.

Many thanks and best regards
Karen & Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    15
    5
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buncrana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Coffee Best”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Execllent Service, Good food at normal prices and comfortable seating. The interesting view across the Foyle and passing walkers and visitors gives an interesting aspect of people watching

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoffeeHouse, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
James D,

Thanks for the lovely review, we pride ourselves on keeping our prices realistic, baking everything ourselves really allows us to give you guys more for less .. not sure why lots of other places don't do it .. anyway, their loss is our gain. The views over the Foyle really do add something special, we can't disagree on this point.

Best regards
Karen & Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This chintzy little cafe full of Irish nick nacks is great for a coffee or afternoon tea and a cake. They also do salads and some hot food, Packed when we were there and seems very popular

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoffeeHouse, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Harry A,

Many thanks for tracking us down on Tripadvisor, hope you enjoyed your visit to Derry and glad you managed to find us on the Quay .. never been described as 'chintzy' before, so that's a first for us.

Regards
Karen & Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good baked potatoes”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a nice little cafe and a good place to stop for a coffee or a quick spot of lunch. There is tons of free parking beside it and their baked potatoes are really nice. I had breakfast there before and the omelet was also nice. Coffee isn't bad there and there are books to read while you wait.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoffeeHouse, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Laura,

Many thanks for taking the time to find us on Tripadvisor and lodge such a lovely, and very informative, review. We're glad that you enjoy our breakfast options and baked potatoes (one of our best lunchtime sellers) all of which is very healthy - could we not tempt you on the home baked treats at all? :))

Hope to see you back again soon,

Best regards
Karen & Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“aaaaah”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

read all the reviews, read all the comments, sorry the staff just didnt make us feel welcome, there was no genuine hospitality here

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
13 Thank bernadette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
We're very sorry that you feel this way, this has been an exceptional week due to the Clipper round the world yacht race arriving in Derry along with an estimated 200000 visitors - we have had to service unprecedented numbers of customers through the shop putting huge pressure on every member of our staff over a sustained period.
Our usual hospitality may well have suffered this week as we made every effort to get our customers served as quickly as possible - as delays and long queues make for more customer frustration, so organisation, efficiency and fast service were top of our agenda - which in the large part was well received and appreciated given the extreme circumstances.

Regards
Karen & Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee House also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing