We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace on Earth”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We encountered character, comfort, clean, quiet, and the friendliest "un-pressured staff" we ever could have hoped for. We were not only very satisfied, we were very grateful. The bed was comfortable as well. Without hesitation we would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luimnigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    138
    59
    31
    20
See reviews for
136
377
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

2nd time hubby and I have stayed at Beech Hill Country House Hotel. Relaxing surroundings, staff are highly trained, yet still have a personality when serving. Food is superb and terrific value for money. The largest beds I have ever saw! Rooms comfy, large, warm and immaculate. Wi-Fi, iron, tea/coffee, shower gel, shampoo and morning paper. Only 2 hints for hotel - a full length mirror and a better hairdryer would be good. Highly recommended, will always return when visiting this part of the world.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel directly when making booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night last week and wish it had been a fortnight! I found it through a recommendation from the company I was visiting .

On arrival you feel like you are being welcomed into a country home not hotel. Brenda on reception was so helpful - right down to advising on my footwear for a walk round Derry that evening (trainers!) - great advice.

The rooms are all you could want, with added country house character. I slept SO well.

In the morning breakfast was wonderful - do try their pain au chocolat- I don't think I've tasted better outside Paris. I also had the most wonderful muffin with my eggs Benedict

Finally a reflective moment in the museum before leaving - the house had housed American officers in the war and keeps that memory alive.

I will be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Samanthkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Four of us had an excellent well presented dinner. Highly recommended. Hotel beautifully decked out for Christmas. Welcoming fire And friendly service. Interesting menu.hope to be back soon.hard to get better ambience for the price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank reviewer209961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Beech Hill for a birthday treat...and it was a real treat. The hotel is in beautiful and tranquil grounds, with some walking trails yet only a 5 min taxi ride from Derry City. The hotel itself is very traditional and perfect for a winters day. We sat for a few hours in the afternoon/evening in the bar area which was beautiful as well as cosy and friendly. The room we stayed in was very nice, but not outstanding. The breakfast was just fab with great food and service. The beauty about this hotel is it's friendly, helpful approach in a beautiful building in beautiful surroundings..only 5 mins from Derry. Super!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Beech Hill. Our time to relax and enjoy well cooked and beautifully presented food. All the staff are so friendly and sincere and genuinely wanted to make our stay a memorable experience. We recommend this Hotel to you and will return again and again......

Room Tip: We like to stay in the older part of the hotel - antique furniture and period pieces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBCoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed two nights in the Beech Hill. It's in a beautiful rustic location. It is a taxi trip away (or bus during the day) from Derry city centre. The rooms are well kept and the staff were always helpful.

Room Tip: Room 30 did get a bit of reverb from the bar downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
536 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,990 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,230 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing