We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wonderful wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have now been to Beech Hill on three occasions. On two occasions we stayed the night and were fortunate enough to be given the rooms that the Clintons have stayed in, spacious, well appointed and with wonderful views over the beautiful grounds.

The staff are very friendly & helpful, the welcome was warm and both dinner and breakfast were first class.

The third occasion was for the NI Regional AGM of the Historic Houses Association, of which I was regional chairman. Beech Hill are members of HHA. We had a total of about forty delegates there, including the President & Director General, who were over from London.

The meeting facilities were perfect, from coffee on arrival, to the attention of all of our requirements and then to the finale of a quite exquisite sit-down lunch. The chefs pulled out all of the stops to provide a very special three course lunch based on historical recipes. It was a real surprise and treat for us all.

The comments from the members were euphoric.

None of this would have been possible without the enthusiasm, dedication and friendliness of the owners, Patsy O'Kane & Conor Donnelly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwlunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
There are newer reviews for Beech Hill Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 762 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Thank you one and all for the most amazing, welcoming, and hospitable stay we enjoyed over the weekend just past. Our room was lovely, food was amazing but most importantly all the lovely staff made us feel so special. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marylennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Have just completed a four night stay here. This is an old country house style hotel and the decor is very in-keeping with this. The staircases and floors creak in a delightfully atmospheric way and the corridors are maze-like. But all of this just adds to the charm. The rooms vary in size, some of my friends had very large rooms, mine was quite small. The floor sloped in place but again, this just adds to the old country house charm.

My bed was huge and quite high off the floor, it turned out to be two large singles pushed together. It was very comfortable and the duvet was delightfully cosy. Everything was very clean and there was maid service everyday with beds made and clean,fresh towels. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings. The food is very high quality but that also means high price. The service is great though, proper silver service.

There is a very cosy lounge area with gas log fires that look just like the real thing and are lovely to sit in front of with a few drinks at the end of the day.

The only slightly worrying thing was the locks on the doors. There was no automatic locking system - because it is an old country house - which means you have to either lock yourself in with your key or use a fixed bar security catch, which of course allows the door to be opened slightly before it kicks in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devongirlie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

From an initial enquiry with Ashley to the time we checked out we had a fabulous time.
This is an Irish Country House with " Olde World" decor, charm and style, house and grounds are very historic.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, especially Ashley and Brenda.
We had a suite in the new part of the hotel and it was beautifully decorated, with everything you could need.Large patio doors opened out directly onto the lawn and wooded area and we were amused by the antics of the rabbits.
WiFi signal was excellent.
We enjoyed several walks through the grounds, they are beautifully kept, lots of photo opportunities.
Food in the restaurant was excellent, and the live piano music was a bonus.
There was a wedding on one of the evenings of our stay ,but we did not hear a sound.
Really looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sentosa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

For our 40th wedding anniversary our children treated us to a weekend in this hotel. They chose it because we could also take our collie dog. The staff did everything to make our stay a happy one, the food was delicious and the walks through the woods were greatly enjoyed by ourselves and the dog. The walks were also interesting because there were notices about the USA marines stationed there during World War 2. All in all a very interesting and enjoyable experience which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tricia63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a recent visit to Ireland and were kind of disappointed with it. While the Inn is steeped in history with it having been U.S. Marine headquarters during WWII and the fact that Ted Kennedy and President Clinton have stayed there, my husband and I were pretty disappointed. The staff was extremely nice but the facilities left a lot to be desired. The entire house was quite cold and our room was freezing. We also had a leak in the living room of the suite from something upstairs, which they did address when notified. We asked for heat and it was put on for a little while, but then they turned it off even though the temperature was falling. We were upgraded to a master suite which was quite lovely but the hallways leading to it had furniture from other areas just obstructing your pathway and linen closets were left open. I felt that for an inn of this nature, more attention should have been placed on details. Don't think that we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a beautiful experience at the Beechil for Sunday lunch. Could not fault food, staff or ambience. However at the beginning of our meal we were asked if we would like still water or sparkling water, so we opted for still water, at no stage did the waitress inform us that we would have been charged for our water. After spending £135 for the afternoon I felt it was a bit steep charging us £11 for two bottles of still water. Maybe in future staff should let customers know of this charge or given a further option of ‘tap’ water!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerryButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
623 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,065 reviews
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $126 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing