We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

we stayed for one night in june, had a lovely time-food excellent, room amazing, staff really lovely & friendly.


will return to stay longer-worth every penny


many thanks to all concerned.

  • Liked — friendliness, food, accommodation
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank divera67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    134
    57
    31
    19
See reviews for
129
362
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights on a mid-week break in Mid May 2008 specifically for my wifes birthday (and our first visit to the hotel). We both found the hotel, its owners and staff, to be warm and friendly.
Because of its popularity, the restaurant does get very busy at night, especially when the hotel is host to a group of diners (and drinkers) who are frequently from the 'movers and shakers' of Northern Ireland. (Bear in mind this where President Clinton stayed, as have many other famous people and it is extremely popular).
Dinner is a drawn out affair because the high quality food is prepared to order, you shouldn't expect any less at the prices you are paying. The choice of food is varied and will not be to everyones liking because of its distinctly 'gourmet' style, but what is served is excellent, well prepared and extremely well presented. You do need to take the time to study the menu and ask many questions of the staff to be absolutely sure what it is you are ordering, but that's part of the enjoyable pre-dinner routine.
A good wine list, at fairly reasonable prices, supports the dining experience.
The grounds (18 acres) are amazing for a location so close to Derry, although mainly treed with large beech trees (from which the hotel gets its name) there are numerous shrubbed areas, grassed areas, several lakes (one with fish) an old ruin and a water wheel. A stroll around the gravel pathways is pleasant, peacful and rewarding with the quietness only broken by the cawing of rooks.
The rooms are exactly what you expect from an old property (which this is) and are spacious, quiet and have large comfortable beds. This isn't a Hilton or a Ramada, thank goodness, but is a peacful retreat from the 'rat race' and a superb base from which you can explore Derry and Donegal with ease.
As others have said, breakfast (at rush time of 8am to 9am) is anything but that which you would expect in a hotel of this calibre, but with so many of the guests wanting fed at exactly the same time (so that they can dash off to do whatever they plan to do) I don't see any alternative other than the 'serve yourself' service. If however you wait until the 'day workers' have departed, usally around 9 am or shortly thereafter, then you can have a quiet, relaxing breakfast which you order from the friendly waiting staff and it will be cooked especially for you. (Maybe at weekends it is a different story, but certainly midweek it was absolutely first class).
Would we return ? There's no question about it, we will return, hopefully very frequently, to a most warm and welcoming location.

  • Liked — The silence, the food, the friendly staff and the extremely comfortable beds
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eldergeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

please do something about breakfast. it may seem trivial, but if I'm paying above average prices, I'm expecting above average service etc. When we arrived in the restaurant at 10.45, the room was already very full and we had to stand like two spare parts until a pleasant but hassled-looking waiter appeared. He pointed to a table in the corner which we sat down at. Observing the melee at the far end of the dining room, it dawned on us that breakfast was going to be one of those godawful DIY jobs!! Starving with hunger, we elbowed our way through the other bemused diners and helped ourselves to what is quite possibly the least appetising breakfast we've ever had. The sausages were inedible (but only discovered this having chewed on the biggest piece of gristle ever - yuk!) and the rest of the food was cold and sad-looking. They ran out of "fresh" orange juice, when we asked for more, the waiter emerged from the kitchen with a jug of iced water which he poured on top of what was left of the orange juice!! And for the record, I REFUSE to toast my own bread when I'm paying good money for B&B! If I want to burn my toast, I'll do so in the comfort of my own home.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerryMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

I don't know what everyone's complaining about. Maybe it's just a bit hit and miss depending on how busy they are. But I stayed here for the third time over about 4 yearsand it was wonderful, even though I had booked a cheapo internet deal my room got upgraded to a superior room with a massive, extremely comfortable bed and a fireplace. I was expecting the restaurant to have gone a bit downhill after reading recent trip advisor reviews but the service was warm and friendly while still being professional. The food was outstanding and I had a huge portion of perfectly cooked flavoursome venison, I don't even remember seeing venison on the menu in another restaurant in Derry. Delicious apple crumble to follow. And yes, it was expensive, maybe if you're travelling on the American dollar it works out too pricey, but it was the best meal I've had out in a long time and for me it was well worth the money I paid. The house is gorgeous and I even enjoyed waiting for my taxi home sitting in the sun out the front with the birds chirping on one side and the stream gurgling on the other. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and I'll definitly be back.

  • Liked — The general feel of the lovely old house
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShakkaKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2008

The hotel itself is OK, and grounds are lovely, but the restaurant is to be avoided at all costs. Food is grossly over-priced and over-rated was served luke-warm. Portions are tiny, and we had to ask three times for our drinks order to be taken. There are many other places in the Derry area where you can get much more, for much less cash.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank barryjohnsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

Yes its old & steeped in history, so they've made as much as they can of it. Yes the grounds are lovely, so long as you don't stray too far and yes, the proprieter will give you a warm, personal reception, until you dare to suggest something could be improved (as we were told she's "been doing it for 20 years you know", so don't assume as a paying guest your opinion counts)!

We spent two nights in The Beech Hill at an inflated rate (oh and don't assume that bookings made over the internet will be honoured!). We ate in the Ardmore restaraunt on the first night & although the food was very good, the service left a lot to be desired. Breakfast was a shambolic mess of luke-warm buffet style fayre surrounded by dirty tables. I could go on to describe the inadequacies of the rooms in detail but previous reviews have it mostly covered.

On checking out we had been over-charged on several items but of course only the owner/ manger / wedding co-ordinator / maitre'd / waitress / porter could deal with our complaint (see the Faulty Towers review!) or indeed operate the credit card machine. As opposed to a relaxing stay it was the most frustrating break I've had, but at least I was glad to return to normality!

The house is old & does have a lovely ambiance; I can see how the owner is so defensive & protective of it. Unfortunately in a modern-day competitive market with more travellers having experience of much better hotels (deserving of 4 stars) passion is not enough. I fear customer expectations will stay beyond the capabilities of the present management. A pity.

  • Liked — setting & house itself
  • Disliked — mis-management!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank finlaybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

May be the best you can get in Derry, but really just a 3-star place. The hotel is showing its age and the rooms aren't that large. The furnishings look like they came from my grandparents storage unit. Small bathroom with limited amenities. The staff is friendly and the restaurant is a bargin (relatively speaking). No actual grounds to speak of and they seem to be solely focused on their wedding business. There is self-parking and didn't appear to have a porter to help with luggage. I don't want to give the impression this place is that bad. It was very comfortable and certainly a good place to stay. But compared to more 5-star places in Ireland, you'll notice a difference here.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bhencey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
3.6 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing