We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true irish hospitality you will want to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
london england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“true irish hospitality you will want to come back”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

So chilled out and been here only a day, in the most beautiful grounds with lovely walks in the massif grounds you would not believe your less than three miles from Londonderry.
The rooms our very tastefully furnished and so much history.bedroom is large very comfortable with lots of storage and high quality fittings.
The staff go out of there way to please nothing is to much trouble .
The breakfast choice is amazing and as for dinner will not be eating elsware now as you can not do better freshly cooked great service and wonderful view whilst dinning.
Old fashioned service with a modern touch.
Leave some room for me please so I can come back you have me hooked

Room Tip: Anex will be quieter even though part of main building just one floor down by lift ,great views stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blucruiser64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    146
    60
    32
    20
See reviews for
141
392
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in a junior suite. Furnishings were a little old fashioned but there was plenty of room with a separate lounge. The bed was vast and comfortable. The hotel is set in delightful grounds. The staff are really helpful and the whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant - the service was immaculate. We want to go back - perhaps the weather will be kinder next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate lunch at The Beechill today again and have dined there many times since moving to Derry over 4 years ago. They source their meat, fish and veg locally.the quality of the foods they source is excellent. We have had consistently beautiful meals there every time. Today I ate a starter of shredded Tamworth pork cakes with a soft egg, then Daube of beef and apple crumble. The service was professional and friendly, the food was presented beautifully, was cooked perfectly and was truly delicious. The Beechill is a very special place indeed, and we will continue to dine there for a very long time. It is no accident that The First Lord of the Treasury stayed and dined there on his recent visit to Northern Ireland for the G8.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

A lunchtime meal for a family occasion at a beautiful and prestigious location. I enjoy good food and expectations were high. The service was good but the venue has remained unchanged for 20 years and it is quite simply, worn and in need to a facelift. W were virtually the only people dining, hence there was no excuse for the expected fine dining to materialise. It didn't. Starter were mediocre at best. The squid was more akin to eating rubber than a seafood delicacy. The main course sadly was also poor, apart from the pork! The fish was covered in butter and vegetables were undercooked. Disappointing - very. We were all agreed and sadly dessert reinforced this viewpoint further. The Panacotta was abysmal. There is now much better in the area and despite the beauty of the building and setting you do come for the food, to enjoy the occasion. When are places like this going to move with the culinary times and create dishes with fusion of tastes which reflect the modernity of cooking in the twenty first century. You should pay for what you expect to get. This was not, sadly, the case.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A heavenly venue for a wedding

I have just returned having spent the weekend with my husband and two young children, we attended a family wedding and could not be more impressed with Beech Hill Country House hotel, as a venue for a wedding or a relaxing weekend away from it all

We arrived early on the Friday and the staff especially Rosin on the desk could not have been more helpful, she showed us our room, even though it was not ready, and let us leave our luggage and hang up our wedding attire.

We have a relaxing lunch on the front porch and the food was delicious, the staff did not produce a children's menu but simply asked what they wanted to eat, this was very refreshing.

Having a church practically in the grounds added to the relaxed atmoshphere with the reherasal followed by an informal and beautiful meal that evening.

The wedding was gorgeous with a fantastic marquee and the wooded grounds made for some lovely photo opportunities. With advise from the hotel we employed two child minders who took 6 rowdy kids off for the afternoon around the grounds and feed them in the dining room, whilst the adults enjoyed a fabulous meal, Patricia the child minder updated us throughout with texts. She was fantastic. At eight pm the kids rejoined us and they enjoyed the huge marquee and secure outside veranda.

The next day breakfast was a family affair and again relaxed and informal, the staff were attentive and friendly. We then checked out at a leisurely pace whilst again enjoying the gardens, the only chink here is the cars in the car park made for a nervous few parents as cars seemed to move quite quickly through.

all in all I would recommend this for a wedding, romantic weekend away or a family party. The food and staff are very good and the rooms spacious and comfortable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs. UK.
Level 6 Contributor
680 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I just loved this place. Beautiful house in beautiful grounds. The surprising thing is that it is so well maintained - I've stayed in quite a few country house hotels, and the buildings are normally crying out for renovation, but this one has been perfectly restored. must have cost a fortune !.
The rooms are great, the staff are very friendly and welcoming, the food is great., and its only about ten minutes from the centre of town.
A really lovely place to stay !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballyliffin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A real treat for Sunday lunch .Lovely hotel with delicious food. My starter of wild mushroom risotto was the best I have ever tasted. Then a main of ascete of seafood, salad and baby boiled potatoes and a desert of lemon/lime posset, and finally a superb coffee all delicious. The resteraunt is airy and light overlooking the lovely grounds. An added treat was the live piano and accomplished music from an adjoining room .The staff were friendly and the service excellent. A delightful way to enjoy a sunny Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catwomenBallyliffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
592 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,048 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
534 reviews
3.6 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing