We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my Mother's birthday very special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made my Mother's birthday very special”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently arranged for my Mother's 80th birthday to be at The Beech Hill. Patsy and the team did a fantastic job. The food was excellent and the service was exemplary as always. Pasty listened to our request for a special table in their conservatory. She gave good advice on a special menu for the party and made sure that the table looked just perfect for the occasion. All in all my mother had a great birthday and everyone commented on the quality of the food. It was a perfect evening for us all.

One of the main reasons that I'd chosen the Beech Hill for this occasion is that I'd received the same quality of service and attentiveness at my wedding and reception, held here a couple of years ago. I cannot rate the hotel enough - they really do give top-class service and make you feel so very welcome....enough to not want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuiseppeG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    146
    60
    32
    20
See reviews for
141
392
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My first ever review as i have never thought the need to rate a hotel before but i have to say what a pleasant place the Beech Hill is. It's not your average hotel as it surpasses everything expected. The food is amazing and the staff are most helpful in a very friendly manner. They have a deal for the first few months of 2013 on rooms, and my wife and i stayed in a lavish room for £65 B+B all in for the both of us. The price of the drink at the bar is quite expensive but this is it's only short coming. Well done to all involved and keep up the good work

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very friendly and welcoming Hotel.My wife and I had a very enjoyable weekend in the Beechill and would certainly go back again.The staff were polite and attentive and the meals in the restaurant were excellent .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It was lovely to find a hotel that made our few days in Derry just perfect! From the comfort of our room, to the great food, to the friendly atmosphere created by the very helpful staff, our stay was extremely relaxing and enjoyable. We also had the chance to walk around the hotel’s beautiful grounds – a lovely way to spend a spring morning!
Beech Hill gave us the best of all possible worlds – easy access to Derry and all the City of Culture events, while staying in a fabulous rural location and receiving top-class service with a personal touch. We’d certainly recommend Beech Hill to anyone visiting Derry this year as a fantastic place to enjoy both the buzz of the city and experience the beauty of its surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajvosa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

...we asked each other, after entering the hotel. The reviews we had read prior to booking were so positive, the description of the hotel so extraordinary, that we were rather surprised by the actual reality. From the outside the hotel does look very charming indeed, with its "Georgian elegance", as they advertise it. But unfortunately, what works well from the outside, the quite beautiful appearance, does not work inside the hotel at all. To me it seemed more like a worn-out, old-fashioned guesthouse. It was not at all the classy environment I was expecting. After we had been given our key (which was attached to an absurdly disproportionally big wooden key fob) we climbed up several flights of stairs to reach a tiny, slightly smelly and stuffy room - which looked more like a servant's room, a hundred years ago. After we complained, we were given another room - which was bigger and a little less stuffy. Still, the whole interior of the hotel, particularly the rooms, could desperately do with a facelift - everything seems old and creaky, especially the bathrooms need a proper renovation.

The only outstanding aspect of this hotel is its fabulous restaurant, the food was without a doubt the highlight of our stay, it was truly excellent.

Unfortunately, that won't be enough to make us want to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gulliver213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Celebrated a 50th birthday in the Beech Hill and had a great stay Food was excellent, chef recommended the beef and it was excellent!!! Birthday boy stayed in the Master Suite and was very impressed, rooms and general overall service was excellent. Looking forward to another stay in this relaxing stay in the near future. Thanks again Patsy, Seamus and staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buildlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just back after great weekend in Beech Hill Country House Hotel. Loved our stay. The food was beautiful. The new paths are excellent - dog loved them - and we did them quite a few times over the weekend! We were in one of the newer rooms and it worked really well with us having the dog. Everybody very kind and helpful. Looking forward to our next stay already! Thanks for being so dog-friendly too - it is great and we really appreciate it. This must be our 4th stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tysieLarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
590 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,045 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,249 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing