We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - minor improvements would help a lot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Galway,Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - minor improvements would help a lot”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was very nice, in a good location, the staff were helpful and the room was fab, superking bed, lovely seating area with a view to the garden.

I was a bit disappointed with the bath, kind of small, was expecting a freestanding bath as I had paid for an upgrade not a small bath that I could have any day of the week, also the shower was tiny, really tiny and the water pressure was poor, small towels, I would expect proper size bath towels and even bath robes in a suite in a 4 star hotel, finally the windows were old and I could hear I assume the staff outside after they had finished work.

The restaurant was in a lovely location and overlooking the stream and garden,Food was hit and miss, good breakfast for two days, third day breakfast was only middling, dinner was fine, tasty but not spectacular.

Finally, unfortunately we left some jewellery in the room and only discovered it was missing on the journey home, on ringing the hotel, there was no sign of the jewellery, a bit of a disappointment that it disappeared!!! Hopefully it will turn up in some corner!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    139
    59
    31
    20
See reviews for
136
379
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one night and had dinner and breakfast. A great big hotel with an independent charm that you don't find in hotel chains. The dynamo that is the owner is welcoming and cheerful, with a keen ear, and the whole place has an air of quality. The walls in reception are littered with pictures of politicians who have stayed here. My room was large, the bed enormous. I would have liked a chair to sit on for when I was using my computer...there was no desk as such. Everything was clean and comfortable. I would have given this a four star, but the restaurant let it down a little. Dinner was pleasant enough, but I thought my meal (venison) was slightly bland and my breakfast of a poached egg and haddock was overcooked by some way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaringBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had a one night break at Beech Hill with my Mum and two friends - this was a travel Zoo deal. We had a super experience from stat to finish. All of the staff were friendly, welcoming - we were personally accompanied by the hotel receptionist to our rooms who carried our bags. Restaurant and evening meal was first class, the pianist just made the evening. Breakfast was really good and we were able to appreciate the gardens and the setting of the hotel. Our room was superb with a lovely sitting area were we could relax pre dinner. Thanks to all the staff for making us so welcome and the superb service. The only complaint I have is that the hotel entrance was difficult to find at night as the sign was not lit up and the entrance is quite easy to miss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, BC, CANADA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very nice hotel. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The restaurant attached was classy and served delicious food, my dessert was so cute I had to take a picture of it. All over the walls are pictures of presidents that have stayed here like Clinton and the Kennedy's, other important people stayed here too. The grounds are beautiful too with a couple of waterfalls. A helicopter landed in the backyard which was exciting, unfortunately it was noone famous.

Room Tip: a room with a view would be nic3e
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missingthebuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently hosted a family gathering at the Beechill and had an exceptional hospitality experience. The owner, Patsy, went above and beyond the norm to ensure that everything went to plan. The location - in the marquee- was perfect and we had it all to ourselves. The standard of food was very high and all served hot despite our timing going awry. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive. Thank you to Patsy and all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a wonderful overnight stay in this hotel recently with friends.everything was perfect from the welcome as soon as we arrived until our departure the next day.the food was first class,the rooms were luxurious and comfortable and the staff went out of their way to make us feel extremely welcome.particular thanks to Brenda,Ashleigh and seamus.We were only sorry that we couldn't stay longer.we will definitely return in the very near future and will be recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that president Clinton stayed in.fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent a lovely evening here with family on a Saturday night. It was cold and dark outside, but warm and inviting inside.
Very attentive staff, perhaps a little over enthusiastic in filling the wine glasses almost to the brim, but the food was excellent. The vegetarian options were more exciting than some of the normal mains which was a pleasant surprise.
Chicken was cooked to perfection, salmon was great!
Deserts were good too.
I suppose the menu was a little on the traditional side and not very adventurous, but cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
542 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,993 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing