We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even nicer than I expected and I expected a lot”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Even nicer than I expected and I expected a lot”
Reviewed December 14, 2010

What appears to be a simple place from the outside is fabulous inside. From the service to the food to the rooms, they don't miss a beat.

The people who work here are obviously hospitality professionals but with a friendly easy manner. We enjoyed the wonderful real wood fireplace in the lobby and the beautiful bar and public and abundant seating areas.

Although our room seemed small after staying in a few places with very large rooms, it was more than sufficient in convenience and comfort. It had all we needed and more. There we so many extra special added touches. The bed and linens were amazing.

It was exactly a 30 minute walk to the city as others have said. We are brisk walkers, too. This is exactly what we wanted since we love walking and exploring the areas where we stay. Would I have stayed at the hotel in the city walls. NOT a chance. Nothing could compare to the Everglades.

We booked the dinner and breakfast package and it was a real treat. The meals were great and the service again was excellent. There was a high school prom type event going on in the hotel this evening and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing all the teenagers dressed up so much and enjoying themselves. They had dinner in their own space and there was no negative impact on our evening at all. They were simply charming.

Now let's talk about breakfast. YUMMY! Care for a little Bushmills in your porridge/oatmeal? Go ahead, pour it yourself since it's right out there on the buffet.

The walking tour included in our package was a nice touch, too. We did it the day we arrived and it really helped orient us to the city within the walls.

Was there a disappointment? No free wifi at all in any part of the hotel. I sure wouldn't let that fact affect my choice to stay here.

The only mistake we made in booking The Everglades was only staying 2 nights. We should have stayed longer. We just might do that some day so we can explore the fascinating city of Derry/Londonderry longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    202
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
258
438
27
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Stayed here for one night while on business in Derry and I can say its a very comfortable hotel with a great bar and a restaurant that delivers delicious food at reasonable prices. The night I stayed, there were 2 busloads of teenagers on school trips (in my day we stayed in youth hostels and not 4 star hotels!). There was lots of noise in the hall from teenage girls around 7pm while I was doing some work in my room but a call to reception had instant effect and tranquility was restored. The staff were among the best I've come across in a long time and the place has an air of professionalism with a very human touch. Only complaint is the lack of free wireless broadband in the room. I cannot stand having to pay for this particularly when most hotels around the world that are serious about wanting business travellers provide this for free now. Some of the male teenagers from the school tour decided to make some prank telephone calls at 3am so I just hung off the phone. I mentioned this at checkout to the receptionist but the busload had left at that stage. She couldnt apologize enough and was preturbed that this had happened even though this was outside of the hotels control. Shame on you spoiled brats from Tipperary. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Derry for business or leisure. Great to see such dedication to customer satisfaction from the staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikestravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

just spent a lovely relaxing night at the everglades,from check in to check out everything was great. Niall on reception was most welcoming and very professional a pleasure to deal with Rooms were were well decorated and spotlessly clean as was all the public areas i would definately return to this hotel if i was ever back in Derry. My only negative point would be sort out the key cards for the doors each time we returned to our room we were locked out and had to treck back to reception to get them enabled again it was beginning to get a bit frustrating.However, this was only a minor issue and wouldnt put me off going again.This hotel offers everything you would expect to get from a hastings group hotel and more give it a try

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sheesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Dear Sheesh1,

Thankyou for your great comments about the hotel, i am happy that you had such a great stay. its only with feedback from our guests that we can improve and im delighted to say that we have addressed the issue with the door locks and will be replacing them with the latest technology in the coming weeks. hopefully you will return soon so you can test them out personally

Kind Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Although perhaps not the most attractive exterior the reception, bar and restaurant are lovely. The rooms were large and clean with a bath and separate shower. (Shower was perhaps a bit too powerful first thing !) The food was excellent and staff very helpful. The reception was very nice to relax in with a lovely open fire. Excellent breakfast as well. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailey061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Helpful,pleasant staff and lovely atmosphere in the hotel made our stay very relaxing. The rooms were clean and tastefully furnished and we couldn't have faulted our meal in the restaurant nor the breakfast the following morning. The Library Bar and the foyer with its beautiful fireplace and soft sofas was the perfect place to relax in the evening. The hotel is nicely situated in a quiet,residential area but not too far out from the city,a quick taxi ride would have you in the city centre. A lovely weekend...we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sams4471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear sams4471,

i am delighted to hear you had such a relaxing stay with us, i look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel. thankyou for taking the time to post a review

Stephen Redden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Great location, 30 min walk into the city. spacious rooms, comfy bed, great lobby, helpful staff. Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haych001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
dear Carrickmore-paddy,

im glad to hear you enjoyed your time here in both the Everglades Hotel and the the city. we look forward to welcoming you back. Thankyou for taking the time to write our review.

kind regards

Stephen Redden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break and we had an absolutely incredible time! On arrival the hotel looked absolutely fabulous, and met our high expectations of 'Hastings Hotels' as we have stayed in the ‘Europa’ and the ‘Culloden’ on previous occasions.

The staff are obviously well trained and are particularly attentive - from Reception, Housekeeping, Bar, Restaurant to the duty manager James who introduced himself when we were checking in - I cannot thank them enough for making our stay exceptionally relaxing and enjoyable.

We dined in the comfortable candle-lit 'Satchmo's Restaurant' during our stay and it was heartening to see how the ‘Everglades’ has taken pride in using the abundance of fine local produce which the North of Ireland should be proud of! Fine Fresh Breads, Meats and Cheeses which were exceptional! Even breakfast boasts a high quality selection of local produce including handmade cereals and a healthier yet traditional full Irish Breakfast! – It was without a doubt the best we have tasted!

Being a “young” couple (or so we like to think) we wanted to stay in a Hotel close to the City Centre so we could explore the beautiful City of Derry during the day, but also enjoy the clubs and pubs in town at night. The Everglades is situated in a quiet and humble location on the edge of the city, and a taxi into the Hustle and Bustle of the City didn’t cost us more than a few pounds!

Our room was a great size with a massive bed and a huge flat screen TV which my wife particularly enjoyed! (Pity we couldn't take that home). It was exceptionally clean, with everything you need for your stay. Due to the quiet location of the Hotel on the outskirts of the City we had no problem in falling into a nice comfortable sleep after a night in town.

When we got home we figured that we only owe it to the exceptional staff to let others know about our stay! Well Done Everglades and Thank You for a Great Weekend! We will most definitely return in future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrickmore-Paddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,990 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing