We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Spent NYE 2009 at Everglades Hotel. Cosy, welcoming reception. Courteous & attentive staff. Outstanding 6-course banquet. Great wine. Unbeatable value! I'm already booked for NYE 2010. See you there!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,239 - 1,245 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

Went to the New Year's Eve Masked Ball. A great night. Excellent dinner - all six courses and excellent entertainment. Stayed the night in a lovely comfortable bedroom with a great bed. Breakfast the next morning was equally good, with a fine selection of hot and cold items. But best of all were the staff - friendly, wecoming and efficient. Most of those serving breakfast had been serving dinner the night before and were still smiling! A great way to see in the New Year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fetist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Myself and my partner had just got married the week previous and as a gift we got given 2 nights in Londonderry Everglades hotel as it was on our way to donegal.
The outside of the hotel wasnt the best, as when you think of the slieve donard and other hastings hotels, it didnt really match those but as we got inside it was nice, clean and warm ( lovely fire in reception ) and we made our way to our room which was room 209. Nothing to complain about there either, quite small but this may be because the bed was huge and very tall but it was clean and warm. Even though it was new years the traffic wasnt too bad outside but it would have helped alot if they installed double glazing, you could hardly look out the window really, they do need replaced and updated.

So onto dinner.....lovely little snug lounge with another beautiful fire. The menu was rather expensive i have to say and i do think it was abit over rated as we both have got better for cheaper but it was pleasant enough but what really let everything down was the service of the staff. On our first night eating in the lounge the bar man was in a real rush and when taking our order he couldnt wait to get away to do other things and the table next to us had to keep asking for his attention as their disabled daughter needed some water and he turned around to tell them to wait 2 minutes!

The second night we had food again in the lounge as it was so cold outside to travel into town. Unfortunately again we had to go up to the bar to get someones attention to take our order...saying that he was friendly enough and a different bar man and the food also was very nice.

Breakfast was also very nice, we went down pretty early the both mornings ( between 8 - 9am ) alot of very yummy food to help yourself to and i loved it. Again a negitive......the girls that were on service at breakfast were useless! they stood around gossiping while our dishes piled up on the table and we literally didnt have room.

On new years day we got a call from my mother who was picking us up to take us onto donegal, to say she would be late as the roads were really really bad and she wouldnt be able to get to the Everglades until lunchtime so we rang down to reception to ask would it be possible to stay in the room an extra hour or two after 11am ( when we are meant to check out ) and was told No and if we wanted to it would cost us £20 each for just that short stay in the room. I was really surprised at this as it was new years day and we had no way of leaving so we had to pack up and sit around in the lobby for 2 and half hours. Wasnt a nice end to our honeymoon.

All in all, an Ok hotel, warm and cozy but the staff that were on in the hotel when we were there wasnt prompt, were lazy, Not very helpful to our needs and could use abit of a kick in the bum.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishsoul28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased that you found the internal areas of the hotel very warm and cozy, and complimented the breakfast food and lounge food.
I apologise if you found the staff lacked promptness. I regularly receive fantastic comments about the great service guests receive, and indeed over the New Year, I received numerous amounts of positive feedback from guests. I will however, address this with my bar and restaurant manager.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Kindest Regards
Stephen Meldrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

The staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The fire in the lobby is welcoming and warm. Make sure you sample the great food. Taxi to town centre is reasonable and is better than taking your own car. Would be a 5 star if it had a leisure centre.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickcarey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I was attending a show in the area and stayed in the hotel over a weekend. We had requested a cot, when we arrived there wasn't one in the room, one phone call to reception and it was sorted. The rest of the trip went just as well staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms weren't the biggest I've ever stayed in but had everything you would ever need including the rubber duck in the bath tub!!

We stayed in the hotel for an evening meal, the presentation of the food was fantastic right down to the hotel themed newspaper articles on the fish and chips basket which my son insisted I read!

I would recommend this hotel for a short family break or anyone looking for a nice relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TINYWEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Just returned from a 2 night stay and had a wonderful time. Food and staff were great, and hopefully plan to return in the New Year.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetl0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a long weekend visit to Derry/Londonderry.

It is easy to find, being right on the main A5 road into the city from the south. Parking is more than ample and the welcome at reception was warm. Getting into the city from here is no real problem - only 10 minutes or so by car or taxi.

My room was large and comfortable. The heating was adequate - just as well on this rather cool, breezy weekend - and the bathroom well appointed. The cleaner, however, had a rather patchy attitude towards restocking the in-room tea and coffee making facilities, piles of coffee sachets and a complete lack of teabags being the result!

The easy-to-find location means that there is rather a lot of traffic noise even if, as in my case, your room is not on the side of the hotel next to the road.

The restaurant and bar are nice, with a good selection. The menu in the former is, however, rather expensive. The staff are variable. On my visit, some of the younger servers in particular were inattentive to the point of surliness.

Not bad on the whole, however - you could certainly do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,098 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.0 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
547 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $91 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing