We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury in Northern Ireland”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently and would highly recommend it to you if you plan a trip to Northern Ireland.
All the staff were very friendly and highly efficient and I wrote to the hotel to tell them so.
It is ideally located close to the City of Londonderry and you can easily get to other well known attractions such as The Giants Causeway, Portstewart and Portrush, Carrick an Rede and Belfast is just over an hour away. We had originally planned stopping just the one night but, the room was luxurious and the breakfast just hit the spot so, with help from Manager James Caldwell we decided to stay for another nigh. My wife is quite particular where she likes to stay but said she would so haapy if every hotel was as nice !
I will be visiting the area again, it is a no bainer where I shall be staying....................

Martin Alsop,
Newmarket, Suffolk UK

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mailpatrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2009

Dear Martin,

I am absolutely thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay at the Everglades Hotel. it is particularly rewarding to hear your wonderful comments about the staff, and in particular James.
Thank you for your wonderful comments, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,303 - 1,309 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

Stayed for a 2 night break in the Everglades. Had an excellent experience. We had a dinner at Satchmos Restaurant included in the 2 night package both my partner and I were very impressed with the food. Compliments to the chef!!. Breakfast is also very impressive, lots of variety and noticed that a lot of locally sourced produce were on offer. All staff within the hotel were very helpful and pleasant. We had a very relaxing weekend and would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarec54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2009

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay, and in particular commended our chef on the evening meal and on the quality of our breakfast. At Hastings Hotels we are committed in supporting, and using only the finest in local produce.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Stayed at the Hastings Everglades for one night on a bed and breakfast basis. Nice comfortable hotel about 5 minute drive from city cenre of Derry. On arrival our room wasnt ready, so we waited in the lounge area where we had a lovely bar snack lunch. Only had to wait for half hour for our Bedroom and it was a nice size and modern altough the room was a bit dark even with quite a big window. Didnt have dinner in hotel as we had planned to have a meal in the city centre but would definitely consider eating here as the breakfast was lovely with excellent staff. At the momenet they have an offer on two course meal for 2 with bottle of wine for an outstanding cheap price of £29! You really can not beat that especially in a 4 star hotel. We are already planning our next trip to the City and we will be booking this hotel again. Have stayed in other hotels in and around this area and if its a relaxing quiet holiday you wish to have this is the hotel for you.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank marian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Nice clean modern rooms, excellent food in restaurant, friendly and efficient staff.
Nothing to critiise.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank melita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights with family, including my elderly father and found the hotel and its staff to be highly trained and helpful. No request was ever too large or met with difficulty. Food choice and quality was 1st class and the breakfast buffet spread was worthy if not better than many 5 star properties i've frequented. Furnishings and interior decor also worth highlighting, a big improvement on my stay a couple of years ago. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

the Everglades is a lovely hotel a few minutes away from Derry City. Situated in a wooded areas it offers a truly relaxing and comfortable holiday to weary travellers!
great staff, great food and a lovely relaxed, informal atmosphere make this hotel a very good choice. rooms are spacious and comfortable and the whole thing is tastefully decorated and not gaudy and over-the-top!

would definitely recommend this hotel and I would go back there myself.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 240fedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

this hotel is quite classy,just outside the walled town and over the river. a short taxi ride,but worth it as this is one of the nicer hotels. lovely room,great afternoon tea.lovely bar area and friendly helpfull staff. would stay here again. ps great bar life in derry. and the people were fun and welcoming. had a great 3day stay.

Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
1  Thank thegilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,151 reviews
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
780 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $114 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing