We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Easter Break”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Second time I've visited Everglades in 6 months, every Easter we go somewhere different for a break, this year we choose Derry & the North East, Hotel was perfect for our needs, my daughter was learning to ride her bike so location facing the towpath on the Foyle was perfect, we could just cross the road and had ample room for walking, cycling etc. As before staff were fantastic, one of the team even made my daughter a staff name badge which she loved. Room was excellent, breakfast & evening meals were very nice indeed. Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickymobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

My family was on a tour with CIE. We stayed at the Everglades on a Saturday and the hotel was very busy. However I found that the staff top of the line and very helpful and courteous.

Also found the food to be very delicious and the wait staff efficient. The rooms clean and spacious. Overall very satisfied with the hotel.

Upon returning home to the United States I realized that my teenage son forgot his recently purchased sweatshirt at the hotel. I sent an email to inquire about it. I received a quick response informing me that they found it and were going to return it as soon as they could. I feel they went above and beyond expectations. I highly recommend staying at this beautiful well run establishment!

Joanne Lehan
Massachusetts, USA

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had a fantastic evening trying out the new Dragonfly Lounge. A great evening of music and entertainment topped off by a free cocktail! Would definitely recommend to all for next month.

I am a regular visitor to this hotel and the quality of service and staff never disappoints. You are always made to feel very welcome and the atmosphere and ambience of the hotel is very relaxed. Best hotel in Derry by far!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rt1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed 2 nights. Service was fine, food was good but not much atmosphere. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful (as most Derry people are). Maybe it was quiet because it was Easter Tuesday and Wednesday nights. One criticism Our bedroom window faced houses that could see right into the room. Easily rectified by a net curtain or louvred blinds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamrock35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A short getaway for one night at the weekend..... On arrival we were upgraded to a suite, which was beautiful. We had a very relaxing drink in the library bar and then moved into the restaurant for dinner. The food and service were impeccable,which has always been my experience at The Everglades. The management and staff on every level of the hotel are friendly, attentive and very professional and really make the experience a delight. Will definitely be back and would strongly recommend this Hastings hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank caprindev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Nice, big and a relaxing place in Londonderry. It is very close to the city centre - a 6/7 minutes drive. The breakfast is good with more then decent spread.

The only point that I would highlight is the absence of free wifi in the rooms - wifi is free only in public spaces in the hotel; pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swatipareek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Spend a night in everglades recently, really really impressed. Hotel location is ideal, jus a few minutes drive from Derry (fantastic city). Hotel itself is gorgeous, very modern yet grand looking. Lovely lounge/bar area where we relaxed for a few hours in the evening. The next morning we had breakfast, so much choice, all very high quality and the fry was delicious. A must if you haven't experienced an 'ulster fry' before. The bedroom was really nice, an enormous bed, biggest bed I have ever seen and very very comfy. Slept like a baby that night. The staff in the hotel were so friendly and came across very professional, very informative of the hotel and local area. Overall, no complaints whatsoever and if I was returning back to Derry I would stay there without a shadow of a doubt.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jordan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
550 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $93 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing