We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable Hotel”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in the Everglades Hotel for 2 nights, the hotel is nicely decorated and very comfortable, the rooms are spacious and very clean, A nice warm welcome on arrival, Large parking area which is a big plus,The staff are freindly and always on hand if anything is needed, a very nice cosy bar area, the bar staff were very knowlegable regarding food, places to see and things to do, A lovely breakfast on both mornings even though it was the usual buffet style there was plenty of food and it was lovely and fresh and nice and hot, spacious room for breakfast and you didnt feel rushed in anyway, A very comfortable ,clean, friendly and great value Hotel.
Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking time from your day to write us a review here.
I am delighted you got to experience the best of our hotel and to note our Locally sourced fresh food, especially our locally sourced breakfast.
We at Hastings & Everglades Hotel believe strongly in sourcing all of our produce locally and we are delighted you found our offerings "lovely".
Thank you also for pointing out our staff service.
I will be sharing your great comments with my team.

We hope to see you back soon for more of the same treatment.

Best wishes

Neil Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just recently attended a wedding in the Everglades and had a wonderful time and a delicious meal in this really warm ,homely and spacious hotel.Staff were very helpful and friendly and always onhand if needed.Just like to thank the staff for making this special day more memorable because of there presence and to thank the chef and his staff for the amazing food at the wedding.Stayed the night in the comfortable bedroom and had a lovely breakfast.Would recommend for a stay great hotel and staff .Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear guest

From me and all the staff here at The Everglades Hotel. Thank you for writing about your positive experience here. We are delighted you were impressed with all we had to offer. The wedding day last week went so well and everyone who attended really made our hotel glow. Thank you for pointing out our spacious and relaxing lobby and bar.
And I will surely be passing on your "amazing food" comment to our chef Colman and his team as I know he will be delighted to read this.

Thank you again


Neil Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We cannot recommend the Everglades highly enough. From the moment we stepped into the reception to the moment we left we were treated to genuine friendly and helpful staff. The receptionist's name was Keleigh and she welcomed us as though we were long time friends! We had an excellent bar meal where our server didn't simply take our order, but advised us on the meals and knew all about the food that was being served. The room was gorgeous and the breakfast offered a wide variety of local produce.
Definitely 10/10 for the Everglades - Neil Devlin (Manager) "you are doing a fantastic job and your staff are a credit to you". We definitely would stay here again when visiting Derry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you personally for your very kind and generous comments. Not only about The Everglades Hotel but myself also.
It is very much appreciated.
I am delighted to be able to manage such a great hotel and an even better group of people. Thank you for taking the time to point that out.
I am also sure Keleigh will be delighted to read such a glowing review.

Thanks again and see you soon hopefully


Neil Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our afternoon in The Grill Resturant was just prefect!
Such a warm atmosphere in The Resturant. Display of food was breathtaking and mouth watering. Very highest quality of food and service was excellent.

Although it was self service the staff were circulating constantly in case any assistance was required. Staff go above and beyond!
Would recommend The Hastings Everglades Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August, we had the evening meal on the 1st night. The foyer area was beautifully done and was a very relaxing place to spend some time, plenty of room. The room was lovely, everything we could want. The meal and the breakfast were excellent and the staff were friendly. The hotel is a 30 minute walk or a short taxi from the city centre, I didn't find this any bother

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here on a 1 night special deal that included B&B and and a 'gourmet' dinner. The good points for the Everglades are the staff are friendly and attentive and the accomodation is very good. The bad points are the hotel is stuck in the 1970s and the food is very average. Bar prices and the poor wine list are just priced stupidly. The 'gourmet' meal was on a cheapie menu and was of bar food quality and presentation. Braised beef was served in a metal dish, similar to a fast meal from Tesco, with a basket of chips. For a 4 star hotel this was woeful! Its looks like the Hastings group is trading on reputation, and I think you can do better in other hotels (or even B&Bs!!) around the city, Average aptly describes the Everglades.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specky2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful, bedroom was clean and bed very comfortable. It was also nice to have the use of the Gideon Bible in the bedroom. Breakfast was good as was lunch. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gideon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I am delighted you found our staff friendly and helpful. Staff service and interaction is something that we work on everyday as its "free".
I am delighted you enjoyed your conference and your stay.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Warmest regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,078 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
546 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $90 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing