We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

In Londonderry on business and stopped for lunch which was very good. Staff very friendly and attentive. Food was freshly cooked and reasonably priced. Worth a visit if your in the area . Great setting. Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    203
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
258
438
27
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed over for 2 nights in Derry,the first night was in the presidential suite and it does exactly was it says,,what a room -the biggest I have seen in a long while. We had dinner on the second night and even though it was very busy and we hasn't booked the staff moved mountains to accommodate us. Breakfast is a real treat, I ESP.loved porridge with whiskey honey and cream. Perfect for my wee hangover.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahbaby2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the Everglades in Derry for 2 nights in January 2013 with my partner and a few friends. I thought it was excellent. The lobby was spacious and nicely finished and the great atmosphere made me feel relaxed. Our room was spacious, spotless and the bed was really comfortable.
I had thought the hotel was further away from Derry City so was pleased to find it was just a short taxi ride away. Getting in and out of the city for shopping on Saturday was hassle-free.
Had a fantastic meal in The Grill on Saturday evening, the food was delicious, followed by a night out in Derry City. Back in the hotel, we were able to relax in front of the open fire until the small hours. All of the staff were warm and friendly and I would especially like to thank Finian for his excellent service-he really went the extra mile to ensure we were well cared for!
All in all, our trip to the Everglades was a fantastic experience-the hotel was excellent, the staff are first-class. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had to travel to Derry last weekend for work, but also took in an extra day to see the City. I've stayed in a few different hotels in Derry before and whilst they were good, I wont be going anywhere else next time I'm back. There's a great atmosphere to this hotel, mainly due to attitude of the staff who couldnt have been nicer in a genuine way. Late night bites to eat when the kitchen was closed, rearranging seats to suit us etc etc all no bother.
We ate in the city on the Friday night (£4 taxi fare), but tried the restaurant on the Saturday. Food was superb with a great wine list too.
Everything else, cleanliness, rooms (definitely upgrade to a suite if you can!!), location mean I will be back soon and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch1nook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Travelling in Northwest and stopped to use the loo ! - Hotel was so warm and friendly decided to have a coffee - ended up staying for dinner.
Lovely hotel - great setting - friendly helpful staff - delicious and reasonable food.
I WILL be back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed for one night on business the staff were lovely, the room was warm (once I turned the radiator on) and the room service of fish and chips was delicious. I would definately stay again. One small criticism would be that a £5 tray charge for room service is the dearest I have ever been charged ... even in the centre of London, I was a 30 second walk from the bar!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarasNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Everglades over the New Year with a group of friends, from the moment we arrived the staff were extra helpful and very pleasant(and even managed to have an Aussie adaptor there!!). We had a great stay and had initially planned to go into the city centre for the night but changed our minds after sampling the dinner in the restaurant (i would recommend the goats cheese tarte-yum) and seeing how cosy the foyer was in the hotel. We enjoyed some tasty drinks in the bar and danced the night away to the great singer that was on hand to entertain us!! I will definitely be going back to the Everglades again and I would recommend this place to anyone if they want a clean, comfortable hotel with a very friendly bunch of staff!! Cheers Guys!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hara77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing