We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid hotel.”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at The Everglades Hotel (one of the Hastings chain of hotels) in April, apparently a 4 star, but I’m not sure how this rating is awarded – while the staff are excellent, and the public areas are schmick and even a little plush, the rooms need some attention to raise the standard. While our room was an executive room, it was crowded with furniture, it didn’t have a bar fridge (although, that may be a UK thing?) and there were no privacy curtains – only the heavy drapes, which meant that the houses opposite the car park could see right into the room in unless the drapes were closed. The shower head only had one setting for pressure - which was full on, and sometimes actually painful. The room was always cleaned well, though.

Am also not impressed that all of the Hastings hotels don’t have free wifi – subscribing to BT Open Zone for internet access (at £6 an hour) is inconvenient, archaic and sometimes quite unreliable. Tedious, really. I thought it might be a UK thing, but apparently there are other hotels that offer the complimentary access. Actually, even your 3 star B&B offers free wifi! This really is something that they need to address.

The location out of the town (had to drive in) wasn't really a problem - it meant that we were away from the loud night noise, and parking was cheap when we did go in.

But the staff and public areas of the hotel were very good, so I can see how it has remained so high on the list of Derry hotels for so long.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Bontaks,

thankyou for your feedback, i am delighted to here the staff looked after you so well. the Hotel only recently recieved its annual award of 4 stars, from the tourist board and remains the standard required to achieve this. Free wifi & bar fridges are not requirements of a 4 star standard. i am disappointed to here the service was unreliable and i will investigate this with the providers.
all of our bedrooms are fitted with net curtains and standard curtains for your convenience. if you would please contact me direct i would like to make sure this is the case for the room you stayed in, and also revisit the layout of the room and see if it can be improved.

many thanks

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Recently I have stayed at this hotel while visiting my chiropodist and pediatrist, and I have to commend the staff on their excellent manners with both a friendly and helpful approach. 

The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and catered to my every want. The decor of the whole place left nothing to be desired. Needless to say, nothing short of excellence. 

May I add, the restaurant staff, bar attendants and housekeeping were all in top notch. The girl who served us at dinner and again at breakfast- Mary, was the epitome of professionalism and friendly, and was without fault while continuously attending to my needs. To mention another helpful few by name, I had found Barbara and Finnian also to have excellent customer service and great confidence in the service they provided. 


I would most certainly recommend that anyone who was looking for a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Michael,

it was a pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues to the city, i glad to hear the staff gave you such a positive experience during your stay. thankyou for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, hopefully during 2013 when we will be the UK's first city of culture

kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very clean nice staff and the service was great as well. The food was excellent had a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stormmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed here 13-15 April and were not disappointed the hotel is lovely and we got a great deal.

The room was spotless with a gd sized tv, hifi and iPod docking station and the slippers and dressing gowns made our stay feel homely. The huge comfy bed made sure we had a good nights sleep.

We had a meal included in our deal and it was so good we decided to eat in the hotel the next night ( they do a great deal for couples 2 courses and a bottle of wine for £35). All the waiters could not have done enough for us and the grill has a great chilled atmosphere.( we even got glasses of champagne because it was my birthday).

The breakfast was all that you could want and more ( whiskey for your porridge) and the hotel gets all its food from local suppliers which is evident in the taste.

If your looking for a relaxing chilled atmosphere with comfy beds and comforting food visit the Everglades, we will certainly be returning.

The only thing missing was a spa and pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Hi sara,

thankyou for you kind comments, all the staff here take great pride when they read and hear reviews from our guests, about the great experience theyve had. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Kind Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were looking for a hotel to stay in for a midweek break to treat our best friends for their wedding anniversary and are glad we chose The Everglades - we had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The rooms were spotless, the beds huge and comfortable, and the bar and restaurant were excellent. Food in the restaurant was great, our dinners were superb, though if I wanted to be picky, I would would say that the nearby Raddisson Roe Hotel in Limavady just has the edge on their breakfast offering. The hotel is located just a 20 minute walk along the bank of the River Foyle from the city centre with all its attractions (or a 5 minute taxi ride will get you there). What made our stay so enjoyable, however, was the staff at The Everglades. Nothing was too much trouble and we were offered friendly advice on what to do and see while we were there. It's a nice touch when your barman or waitress takes a moment or two for a friendly chat rather than to simply serve you your order. One hotel is much the same as another when it comes to the rooms and facilities. What makes the difference here is the exceptional staff - they are a credit to the hotel (if only all hotels were like this?). We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHFromCranley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is on par with one of the best i had ever stayed in. From the comfort of the bedroom to the tranquil settings in the lounge. The staff and service were excellent, friendly and make you feel very relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble. We found this hotel on late rooms at exceptional value. We stayed in the hotel for 2 days and could have stayed longer, but will return. The food was top quality and the 5 course sunday lunch was out of this world. Compliments to the chefs.

Room Tip: The superior rooms not on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekwebb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I wish to voice my dissatisfaction about how I feel I have been treated
while visiting The Everglades Hotel to attend a function to support friends
of mine on charity "So You Think You Can Dance" night on Saturday 3rd March
to raise money for local charities daughters who have died of cancer.



I feel that our goodwill was exploited by because of the excessive
overcharging for drinks at the bar, and our drink where served to us in
plastic glasses such as used at football matches as opposed to the 4 star
establishment you claim to run.



I had a number of friends of mine as my guests and this has left me quite
embarrassed because of the standard of service we have received.



Needless to say I cannot say that I will be in a position to ever recommend
this hotel to any friends/family or colleagues due to the insensitive way in
which I have been treated.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Doireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

dear Doireboy,

the event in which you attended was setup in a way in which my team had no access to the room, and in order to ensure the safety of all our guests and staff. we must serve drink in this way from the ballroom bar. on the night, anyone wishing to drink from a regular glass could do so from our public bar. our prices are advertised and displayed as is, and a variety of price options are available.

thankou for taking the time again to provide this feedback

regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
548 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $92 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing