We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed There 2 weeks ago with My work colleagues and was Overwhelmed with the first class service of everyone in this Hotel. Greeted with a smile at front desk and service throughout our stay was exemplary. A very welcoming lounge area with comfy sofas, fire place and cold pints of Becks! Cant beat it. Food in the main restaurant was Delicious. I Had the Steak and was cooked perfectly, NO sauce needed. Over all myself and my colleagues had a fantastic stay with not one negative to note. I will be back! Cheers

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed for one night as a valentines treat from my husband. We were pleasantly surprised by the decor as the outside of the hotel does not do it justice. The hotel was bright and well decorated with some beautiful pieces of furniture. The staff were very friendly. And took time to speak to us and find out about our likes and dislikes. well done the girls on reception lovely smiles.

The food was lovely and freshly made.

Would highly recommend for someone wanting to see the sights of the city which is starting to emerge from the past. Some beautiful walks and sights.

Room Tip: Just ask reception they will do their best to oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at the Everglades for 4 nights from 2nd Feb 2012.

Excellent reception, very quick and straightforward check in, large and extremely comfortable rooms, the bed is perfect, huge and very comfortable, the best sleep we have had in any hotel we have stayed. A beautiful place to stay.

All staff are very polite and helpful, the breakfast is the best we have experienced.

Don't think twice, a stay here will make your trip perfect.

Well done to the Management & Staff of this hotel, a true gem.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeclanGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is located a few miles outside the walled city of Derry overlooking the river Foyle. It is an easy walk from the hotel into the city or a £3 taxi ride, The hotel has a wonderful fire in the lobby and another in the bar which made it really cosy and welcoming in December.

We enjoyed a good bar menu and excellent meal in the restaurant - both were good value and it is nice to know where the food is sourced and the menu provides this information.

Rooms were a good size and warm and the beds were comfortable with quality bed linen.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for the third time and we were not disappointed hotel was lovely and the staff are all lovely food in restaurant was gorgeous and breakfast was lovely too .Christopher deserves a mention for his attentitiveness he was really brilliant Only downfall was when we went to check out an extra night porter bill for drinks was on our bill and we hadnt used this service but to be fair the receptionist took it off and said that she would have to check the signature to see who it was lol

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrainejojoraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Derry for the Jazz festival in May. My parents stayed also and they had a nice room at the back hence the 3/5 of rating. However our room at the end of the corridor on the ground floor had the double whammy of noise from the road and being beside a fire door that staff seemed to use and bang as they went through. This led to a very broken night's sleep.
A shame as it seems a nice hotel.
I raised the matter gently upon check-out, the girl on the desk flatly denied that staff could be to blame yet I couldn't see who else would have been using it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmcelduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear bmcelduff,

thankyou for providing me with your feedback, im dissapointed to hear your trip was not as enjoyable as it could have been. please contact me direct to discuss this further

genmanager@egh.hastingshotels.com

regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Had a truly fantastic time at the Everglades, staff couldn't have been friendlier and more professional (especially considering that this was a school group booking) Food was excellent and rooms are lovely (nice rubber ducky touch!) A special thank you to Sarah on reception and the charming and astute Finian in what we felt should be re-named 'Finian's Bar'.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear Sarah A,

thankyou for your kind words, i will pass your comments on to Finian and Sarah. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

regards

Stephen Redden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,076 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
546 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: $92 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing