We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”
Review of The Sandwich Co

The Sandwich Co
Ranked #59 of 188 Restaurants in Derry
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
Description: Established in 1990, The Sandwich Co serve the finest sandwiches in the north west of Ireland through their nine sandwich bars!
Restaurant details
Description: Established in 1990, The Sandwich Co serve the finest sandwiches in the north west of Ireland through their nine sandwich bars!
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

In the lisnagalvin premises 2day for a quick bite for a friends birthday & the food was lovely, but it was the service that really stood out for me. Firstly we had a bunch of flowers which burst & the staff had no problem keeping them in the sink for us til the water drained. Secondly we had a very messy wee 18month old with us who crushed a caramel square all over his pram, not only did the girls let me empty the mess into the bin, one of them got a cloth and wiped the inside of it clean for me. Thanx girls really appreciate it, keep up the good work :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derrymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    13
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Can't Go Wrong Here”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very busy self-service type restaurant with a number of outlets in the city so obviously a big hit with the locals.

Huge range of choice, so you can build your own sandwich on virtually any type of bread you like. Opted for a tomato ciabbata roll with mayo on the bottom, chicken with cheese and cranberry on top, favourite combination of mine so was always going to be a big hit.

As a little treat after running the first 16 miles of the pending Walled City Marathon course as a scouting exercise, I indulged myself with a peanut butter and walnut chocolate sticky toffee type cake, pure sugar rush but soooooo worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sunday coffee”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely coffee shop with loads of nice tasty buns and traybakes on offer and some lovely looking sanwiches were being produced.Quaint seating on couches and chairs with lots of local and papers to read .Interesting decor with a lot of thought in it. Hope this venture works as it really was what was required on a Sunday morning food wise !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liketogetoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great in Service, Choice and Value for Money”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have visited the Spensor Road branch now on a few occassions for working lunches and also for a light lunch with my girlfriend. Absolutely fabulous service and the place is never empty which is a true testament to the great service. The choice of sandwhich fillings leaves nothing to be desired and the portions are nice and hearty. The vegetable soup was to die for and the perfect addition to turn a light lunch into a sunstantial one. I will be back here because of the great food, great service and value for money!! The staff here definitely deserve recognition for thier service with a smile!! Loveee it!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Miss my Sandwich Co - Best Sandwich & Staff!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent selection of Food, bread, fillings & soft drinks (spoilt for choice), Fantastic friendly staff, great location, lovely wee buzz at lunch time &very affordable!

Love Dubai but nothing beats my weekly sandwich i used to have at sandwich company Strand Road!

Good luck

Corah :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CORAH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandwich Co also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Sandwich Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing