We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday coffee”
Review of The Sandwich Co

The Sandwich Co
Ranked #54 of 194 Restaurants in Derry
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
Description: Established in 1990, The Sandwich Co serve the finest sandwiches in the north west of Ireland through their nine sandwich bars!
Restaurant details
Description: Established in 1990, The Sandwich Co serve the finest sandwiches in the north west of Ireland through their nine sandwich bars!
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely coffee shop with loads of nice tasty buns and traybakes on offer and some lovely looking sanwiches were being produced.Quaint seating on couches and chairs with lots of local and papers to read .Interesting decor with a lot of thought in it. Hope this venture works as it really was what was required on a Sunday morning food wise !

Thank Liketogetoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 119 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have visited the Spensor Road branch now on a few occassions for working lunches and also for a light lunch with my girlfriend. Absolutely fabulous service and the place is never empty which is a true testament to the great service. The choice of sandwhich fillings leaves nothing to be desired and the portions are nice and hearty. The vegetable soup was to die for and the perfect addition to turn a light lunch into a sunstantial one. I will be back here because of the great food, great service and value for money!! The staff here definitely deserve recognition for thier service with a smile!! Loveee it!!

1  Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent selection of Food, bread, fillings & soft drinks (spoilt for choice), Fantastic friendly staff, great location, lovely wee buzz at lunch time &very affordable!

Love Dubai but nothing beats my weekly sandwich i used to have at sandwich company Strand Road!

Good luck

Corah :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CORAH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good choice of food, value for money, great buzz and welcoming atmosphere, lovely comfortable armchairs and homely feel

1  Thank Braylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hi,

The Sandwich Co is my first choice for a light lunch on any day visit to Londonderry / Derry City (Currently this year’s City Of Culture, good luck!)

With outlets on both banks of Derry’s Foyle river and a few other branches in the Northwest, they seem to be doing well and even expanding, their shop at the Diamond in Londonderry has just recently located a few steps away around the corner to a much larger ‘flagship’ premises which is very impressive indeed. It even offers simple wall painted local maps which would aid any tourist in seek of the aforementioned Culture.

With all stores having the same menu any old favourite can be easily recalled or with a very, very wide array of sandwich fillings I doubt you would be stuck for choice. Various breads are available and you lunch can be served toasted, normal or take away. No doubt they will build you any combination of filling as desired.

In addition there are all types of sweet offerings, various teas & coffees & free newspapers, the staff have always seemed very polite in any branch I have visited, and with tables being cleaned regularly a good standard of hygiene seems to be maintained.

Not the cheapest sandwich perhaps, but well worth the little extra, eg: Bacon, Smoked Cheese, Sun Blush Tomatoes & Chilli Mayo on white bread with a few crisps on the side served with a pot of tea coming in at £5.35 it won’t break the bank.

Parking can be difficult in the middle of Derry, especially near the Diamond, though it is free for up to 1 hour, check the signage well as the ‘Red Coats’ will pounce at will! Pay car parks are also available nearby.

All in all highly recommended, I hope you enjoy!

If this review has 'Informed' your decision please tick the 'Was this review Helpful' box.

Les

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Further_The_Better
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandwich Co also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Sandwich Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing