We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place indeed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Columb's Cathedral

St. Columb's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.90*
and up
City Sightseeing Derry Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #8 of 132 things to do in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Majestic, neo-Gothic Church of Ireland (Anglican) Cathedral, built between 1628 and 1633. St. Columb's is the oldest and most historic building within the walled City of Londonderry. It has recently been extensively restored. The Chapter House Museum displays artefacts from the Siege of Londonderry in 1689 and also many other interesting items.There is an audio visual display which tells the visitor the history of the Cathedral and there are guide leaflets available in 8 Languages. Admission is free - donations are welcome.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very special place indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Don't rush the time you allow for spending in this wonderful cathedral! The sense of peace is truly palpable, despite what it has witnessed over the centuries. Fabulous wood carving on the pews, brilliant organ (even better if the Dean is playing it!) and some wonderful pictures and artefacts in the Chapter Room.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FizzNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    79
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We took some time to go here and what a beautiful historic place it was which was made even better by the volunteer lady who stopped what she was doing to give us a tour. I am sorry I didn't get her name but she had pink tips in her hair. I have to say that she really made a nice visit to the cathedral into a tremendous visit, she has so much knowledge of the place even though she was very humble about it and the passion she had for the place you could hear in her voice.

St Columbs is in safe hands with volunteers like this.

Thank you for your time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JustmeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Steeped in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

A must for every visitor to the City, this great Church with it's rich heritage has to be seen to be believed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisburnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The Post Reformation Cathedral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This 17th. Century Cathedral has recently been restored adn is currently in excellent condition.
The cathedral is beaufiful.
It is decorated with flags and other remnants of wars.
i would prefer to see a Cathedral reflecting the hopes and aspirations of the parishioners as well as the momories of teh past.
i would recommend anybody to visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seeburg3Leixfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to attend Christmas Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Made it there to attend 11:30 pm service. We were visiting from out of town (Canada) and we were made to feel quite welcome in this beautiful church. Wish I could make it a regular event!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Columb's Cathedral also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to St. Columb's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing