We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful, spacious accommodation, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, beautiful, spacious accommodation, friendly service”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This is by far the best B&B accommodation we have ever come across. We all stayed in the same room (2 adults and 3 chidren) and the room was well able to house 3 single beds and a double. The facilities were superb - en suite with shower,(shampoo, conditioner and shower gel provided) kettle in the room with access to a fridge just outside the door, wifi communication, flat screen TV, hairdryer and even dressing gowns and slippers. The bed linen was lovely and the beds very comfortalbe. The room was warm. We were able to request our own time to have breakfast and the landlord and landlady were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. The property is a very impressive, old house that has been tastefully renovated and is charming throughout. We loved it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarh_nawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Many thanks S.N. for posting such a good review so quickly. We know you are a frequent visitor to Derry/Londonderry so we look forward to seeing you and your young family again.
best regards and Happy new year,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
147
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Loved this place! It was the nicest B&B we stayed at during our trip to Ireland - a fabulous place to stay and reasonably priced as well. It was like staying in an beautiful old mansion with huge, gorgeous rooms, but with the convenience of a huge modern bathroom (with perks like a heated towel rack). Newly renovated, it has the best of both worlds - beautiful old house, but with modern amenities. The mansion also has a great location, since it's right by the main road close to Derry, but you'd never guess it - it feels secluded, as if you're in a park, and you actually drive through a hedge tunnel to get to the building . We liked it so much here we stayed an extra day and used this place as a base for trips to the surrounding area, such as the Giant's Causeway, which is well worth seeing. The hosts, Ann and Michael were great. They're naturals at being hosts - very friendly, witty, and going out of their way to help. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at their beautiful home.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank broxburn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you Broxburn, we enjoyed your stay and we are glad you did as well, we are delighted that you got to visit many of the historic places in the north west and west of Ireland. We hope the weather is better for your next visit.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I was on business in Derry and was looking for somewhere close to the City Center. This place was perfect. The property is an old historic 'restored' mansion. An absolute delight to stay in and right across the street from Da Vincis bar & restaurant which I quickly learned was one of the best spots in town. Also very close to the bridge which made it very easy to find as I was traveling in from Belfast. The rooms are very spacious which is what you would expect from a historic period building. High ceilings, lovely crown moldings and sash windows make the rooms a pleasure to stay in. The property is nestled within its own woodland private grounds and it has the feel of being in the countryside but in reality it's in the center of Derry. If in Derry on business again I will make sure to book ahead of time. Mickey was a great host and provided a first class service. Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philodoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Many thanks New York for your kind review, we enjoyed your company and hope to see you during your next trip.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We enjoyed the wonderful spacious and luxurious room, fantastic hosts and great service. One of the best B &Bs we stayed at during our 5 week, recent UK trip!! We would highly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Hello H and L, Australia, thank you for your very kind review. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2010

It was a delight staying at Troy Hall, a beautifully restored 19th century manor house just minutes away from downtown Derry. Michael and Ann are lovely hosts, who saw to our every need and took wonderful care of us. The rooms - completely remodeled earlier this year - were the nicest we stayed in on our trip. They are large, comfortable, and beautifully appointed with clean and spacious bathrooms.

My husband and I were traveling with several friends who stayed in the room next door. Each room had a seating area where the group would gather for tea and to make our plans for the next day. Breakfast was full Irish served in the exquisite downstairs living room complete with roaring fire. I wish every B and B experience could be just like this.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Hello J and C,
Thank you for taking the time to send a review regarding your stay at Troy Hall. It was a pleasure having you and your friends stay with us and since you come from a sunnier climate we hope you enjoyed the snow.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2010

My partner and I have spent the past few months traveling around Europe and Troy Hall is one of the best guest houses we've ever stayed in. The owners are very nice and the breakfasts hit the spot every morning. Derry is a great location we spent a day looking at the sights around the city - we also visited Donegal and the Giants Causeway.

Will definitely be back some day !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_chick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Hello again Aussie-chick, thank you for staying at Troy Hall and for taking the time to post a good review, we enjoyed your company. We have accommodated a number of your fellow Austrailians since we opened in late summer and all have been great guests.
Hope to see you again on your next visit to Ireland.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Troy Hall was absolutely fantastic. Ann and Michael were perfect hosts (and cook a great breakfast!) On arrival Ann invited us in for a cup of tea and had a nice chat before showing us to our room which was beautifully decorated with thought put into the small things.
Would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allym88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you Melburnians for your very kind review and for staying with us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and your visit to see the sights of Derry/Donegal.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
542 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,993 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Troy Park, Derry BT48 7RL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troy Hall, built circa 1890s, is the original grand manor house and to this day retains all of its Victorian architectural features. Troy Hall is a family run bed and breakfast and so every effort is taken to make your stay at our guest house both memorable and very comfortable.best regards,Ann and Michael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hall Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing