We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, full of character with good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The rooms were excellent, clean,bright with an ensuite. It was good value for money.
We enjoyed the full breakfast at around 10.00 so had a short lie in.
When we reached Derry we parked in the private grounds of Troy hall and got cheap and efficient taxi's, for the short trips into city centre.
There were ATM's, shops and a great pub just accross the street if you dont fancy a trip into the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dohertynuala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2010

Thank you for your kind review and your generous high scoring. Thank you also for your e-mail and you’re your appreciative comments on the design of our web site. We look forward to seeing you next month. Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 310 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

My partner and I stayed in Troy Hall whilst visiting Derry for a friends wedding. We discovered the guest house on the internet and decided to book after viewing the impressive photos on the website. We were greeted upon arrival by Anne and Mickey who were very friendly and went out of their way the whole weekend to make sure our stay was unforgettable. The guest house was reminiscent of a country mansion in a quiet area with its surrounding gardens. Its location was surprisingly very central and within 2 miles of the city centre. As the house is in its own grounds there is free secure parking. We stayed in the Rosemount suite which was five star - spotlessly clean, very spacious and had all the amenities you could hope for including a flat screen TV, en-suite bathroom, bathrobes and tea/coffee facilities. The breakfast room, like the rest of the house, was well decorated and very clean. Anne offered a choice of breakfast, all of which delicious and served our breakfast at a time that suited us. All in all our stay was fantastic and the price was very reasonable for what Troy Hall has to offer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMC1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and complimentary review.
We look forward to your return visit in the spring.
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stay in August 2010
Family of 4.
Stayed in the Belmont suite, king sized bed and two very comfortable single beds. Class room with bay window and turret window overlooking the expansive lawn.
Enjoyed a couple of hours sitting in the guests garden.
Modern ensuite.
Very clean.
Very reasonably priced, few guest houses provide family rooms, saves us on cost of two rooms with a further reduction of 10% for booking 2 nights.
Cup of coffee and chat on arrival, great service and breakfast.
Ideal location, 5 minutes drive from the city centre and 3 minutes form the Foyle bridge. Can avoid the city centre if traveling to Donegal.
Parking within the private grounds, safe and very convenent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philipsr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at Troy Hall Guest House will our young baby. The Guest House is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast on each morning was arranged for a suitable time and it too was very good. Our room was fantastic and we would never have had as much space in a hotel room. My only regret was that we didn't book to stay for longer. The surroundings and warmth of Ann and Michael's home was second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zamy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Thank you so much for your review, no doubt the next time we see you the baby chair won't be needed. Regards, Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed in Troy Hall for one night when visiting Giant's Causeway route and Derry. Everything was perfect, and well above the expectation.
The house is huge and refurbished so, everything is clean, and very well decorated, the breakfast room is magnificent . We stayed in an en-suite room, with LCD TV, the bedrooms are much bigger than the average in Ireland, and completely spotless !! everything is brand new, clean and a very good decoration.
There is nothing negative to say, our stayed was absolutely perfect!!!

Anne and Michel are the perfect hostess !! They are very welcoming and Anne's Irish breakfast is the best EVER !!!

I want to say thank you very much to you l !! Muchas Gracias !! And next time that i'm visiting northern Ireland I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fabio_Brazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Muchas Gracias, Thank you very much for a great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you on your next visit to Ireland. Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at the guest house for two nights in July in the Belmont Suite. The room was very well decorated, the ensuite was very stylish and the whole place was spotless. Ann and Michael were very welcoming and very helpful and the breakfast was top class, Ann even made us some "eggy bread" (try it!!). We all said we will definatley go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bee_D1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2010

Thank you, we enjoyed your stay and look forward to your regular visits. You might call it "eggy bread" but we posh people call it "french toast".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The service at Troy Hall was relaxed and friendly and our hosts made us coffee and biscuits on arrival. The bed and breakfast has only recently been opened and the rooms - en suite - were fabulous. The many comforts offered were a welcome touch (robes, slippers, toiletries) and we were made to feel at home. Our room was enormous, flat screen etc. and the location was fine - a taxi into Derry only cost £3! Though the breakfast was nice, some of the other bed and breakfasts we stayed in offered local produce, sausages, bacon, etc. but this is the only improvement I would suggest (if I had to!) We had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2010

Hello Newcastle, many thanks for your very kind review and advise about local produce. We do provide local produce but failed to mention the fact so thank you for the pointer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
666 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 44 in Derry
306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Troy Park, Derry BT48 7RL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: $120 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troy Hall, built circa 1890s, is the original grand manor house and to this day retains all of its Victorian architectural features. Troy Hall is a family run bed and breakfast and so every effort is taken to make your stay at our guest house both memorable and very comfortable.best regards,Ann and Michael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hall Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing