We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$246
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$137
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hotel(Derry)
$137
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfoot Hotel(Derry)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
275
30
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
30
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbelmont suitenice sitting areabreakfast was deliciousmanor houseirish breakfastwalled city of derrybeds were comfortablelovely roomfamily roomshort staysconesirelandslippersprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 311 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at Troy Hall as part of a large group on a hen weekend in the city. It's an elegant and spacious old house set just off the main road not far from the city centre....but far enough to offer some peace and quiet. The rooms are spacious, individually furnished and very comfortable, and the owners provide a warm welcome and are on hand to help with any requests. The all-important breakfast, what's more, is really first-class. Highly recommended for families, groups or anyone who wants something a little different to the usual hotels you'll come across in any city of this size.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello Belfast,
Thank you for the"first class" review.
Delighted that the girls enjoyed the nightlife in Derry/Londonderry and your stay with us.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed in Troy Hall, while attending a conference at the University of Ulster. The house is beautiful and lovingly restored. The rooms are extremely clean, spacious, comfortable and conducive to working in. I stayed in the Culmore Room, which had a very luxurious en-suite bathroom. Troy Hall is ideally suited to anybody required to visit the the University of Ulster as it is a short walk to the Magee Campus. I had two amazing night's sleep here as it is very quiet. The owners were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast was extremely enjoyable. I would love to go back for a leisurely weekend break. I can't recommend Troy Hall enough to anybody visiting Derry.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Culmore Room, which has a lovely view, comfortable beds and a fantastic view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrAM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello Dram-13, Galway,
Thank you for your kind review, so glad you found Troy Hall beautiful, comfortable and conducive to working.
Perhaps you would be good enough to spread the word to your colleagues at Galway University, we are ideally situated for anyone attending our Magee University.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for 2nights and were disappointed to have to come home. Everyone was very welcoming. The room was outstanding, it was huge and very well kept, very clean. We were greeted both mornings coming down the stairs for breakfast, which was lovely, nice start to the day. The house was beautiful, the decor was a brilliant combination of period features yet modern and fresh. Each member of the family were very friendly. We definitely hope to be back soon. Angela & Matt

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattandAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello Angela and Matt,
Thank you for your 5 star review, hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We booked a last minute long weekend break taking my mother in law. The rooms were extremely generous with many original features and lovely big windows.
The beds were very comfortable indeed and the bathroom very modern and clean.
The location is outside of Derry city but that's not a bad thing, it was very peaceful with views of the river. Easy access to the coast too.
Had a lovely reasonably priced meal at D'Vinci's opposite.
Michael & Ann were very warm, welcoming hosts, would not hesitate in recommeding that you stay here.
Would have liked brown toast instead of white, but then I didn't ask!

Room Tip: Room with the turret was lovely
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello Carolcram,
Many thanks for your lovely review.
We are delighted you and your mother in law enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to our city centre and along the north coast.
Brown toast available on request.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Troy Hall : the place is absolutely beautiful, and the are rooms spacious comfortable and clean. The service was very good and we got everything we needed.

The place being in a residential area outside of town, it is really quiet. But that also means you have to walk 20-30 minutes (1.5 mile) to reach the town center, which is a pain on rainy days :(

Also, we found it slightly overpriced compared to the other B&Bs we've satyed in during our trip in northern Ireland, maybe it's just because Derry is an attractive destination for tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nchabrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello Nchabro, Paris,
Very grateful that you thought Troy Hall beautiful and that you found the service very good.
Most of our guests find the 20 minute walk along the riverside very pleasant but, if requested, we can organise a taxi which costs only £3.00 to the city centre. There is also a bus service with a stop one minute form us.
We hope you found that a short walk is a fair trade off for seclusion and quietness. We are in our own grounds so we like to think its like staying in the countryside but very close to the city centre with all the advantages of both.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews