We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely home-cooked food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java

Java
Ranked #2 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: This is a family run coffee shop and cafe. Situated right beside the famous Ferryquay Gate with glass frontage, its great for watching world go by. All homebaked scones,cakes and treats. Fresh and tasty hot lunches,soups, sandwiches, paninis etc. Organic,Fairtrade coffee. We serve the best cappuchino in town. Friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely home-cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had Irish stew and soda bread at the end of the Martin McCrossan walking tour. Perfect on a cold day!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnTruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathDerry, Owner at Java, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much. The homemade stew is just the thing on these freezing cold days! Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice cuppa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Be it a coffee or tea this place will not disappoint.First class friendly service and food it is all you want when you just need a cuppa to pick you up for another bit of sight seeing or shopping

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJHarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathDerry, Owner at Java, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon. Take care Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Visited this cafe after taking the Martin McCrossan Walking Trip of Derry. Food absolutely beautiful. Us 5 girls had the homemade soups, scones, wrap & pannini - all lovely and freshly made. Staff were very pleasant and cafe was extremely clean and cheerful. Would certainly go back if I am back in Derry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathDerry, Owner at Java, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to go online and write this review. We really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we will be delighted to see you back again in the future! Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

home made food that you just dont get any more,cant say enough about this place,had 3 kids with us ,they loved the food ,apple tart ,and fruit juices,staff were very nice,really explained what was in each juice drink in detail,and what the benifits were,very few places like this for kids in the north west,will be back,next time we are in derry

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank petergallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathDerry, Owner at Java, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
I was so delighted to read your review!! Thank you for taking the time to write it. It sums up everything that is important to us. We will be delighted to see you back again. Take care Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The place to go for fresh juices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I'd already earmarked this place after finding it served fresh juices so was delighted to find it with my family at the end of our Martin McCrossan walking tour (which was, by the way, very good). After a week of hotel living and Christmas / New Year food, it was good to find a place that served a 'green juice'. My family had tuna/cheese melts and a wrap and they were all served quickly and looked good. The rainbow juice also tasted yummy, the service was good and the atmosphere was good. Ideal for a cheap and cheerful lunch within the city walls.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathDerry, Owner at Java, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. The Greens Juice, although an aquired taste, is my favourite juice too! its amazing how popular it actually is. Glad you enjoyed your time and we hope to see you back at some stage in the future. Best wishes Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing