We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carrowmena Activity Centre and Glamping
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Moira, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Thought we'd try glamping as we'd never done it before and saw it on a deal. The cocoon was adequate - raised seating / sleeping area, light, sockets and heater. As it was really warm we didnt need the heater. I think we all expected it to be a bit more "glamorous". It pretty much is camping (all be it in a cocoon) in a field. I did enjoy the experience but it really is only 1 step up from camping. I would prefer a mobile or caravan. Having said that, I'm glad that I tried it.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Conor was there the whole time and nothing was too much trouble for him. He certainly earned his money with all the different groups of people who were there over the 2 nights. Chada did the activities with us on the Saturday - archery, team challenging and orienteering - and he was great craic and made the experience very enjoyable. The activities were a great choice for the whole family to do. The other activities looked great too but probably only the kids would have partaken in them as you would need to be a bit of a dare devil!

The area is absolutely beautiful. We spent time in Roe Valley Country Park, Binevenagh, Magilligan Point, Mussenden & Downhill Demense. All really beautiful and well worth visiting. I would definitely visit this part of the country again rather than always visiting Portrush / Portstewart / Giants Causeway while at the north coast.

I would definitely return to Carrowmena - maybe not necessarily to stay - I think the kids would enjoy the other activities. I think the hostel looks good for groups. It was allways warm and there was always tons of hot water for washing.

All in all a good spot. Worth the money (though we did get a deal). Good to do with family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OJK1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
42
4
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Didn't matter about the weather, activities were run with a cheery disposition by Stevie and Stephen. We did archery, climbing wall and zipline, some of it in the rain, and enjoyed every minute!!

The glamping cocoons were great - overall ... great facilities, lovely staff, great craic.
Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I'd just like to say first of all that if you are travelling with kids, the activities for them are excellent and all the staff (with the exception of the owner) are very welcoming and friendly.

I brought a group of young people here a couple of weeks ago. The Hostel is based in an old school building and when we arrived, my initial feelings were just how cold it was inside the building. There was a smell of damp and the corridors are very dark. I was convinced it was the beginning of a horror film. My room was freezing, there was no key to lock the bedroom door from the outside when I was away. As I didn't know any of the group I had brought here (I was just the coach driver), I wasn't too happy leaving personal belongings in an unlocked room. I had to go and ask for sheets and a duvet cover. The fitted sheet was far too small and so didn't fit. Also, I could hear every single footstep and voice from upstairs. Shared showers were absolutely disgusting. Bathroom not much better. Food at the hostel was basic but done the job to be honest. Again, staff very friendly and great craic. By the time it got dark, it was now unbearably cold. Finally, after several hours of us being there, the owner decided to switch the heat on (for a couple of hours). The following morning, the showers were freezing cold. Apparently, the owner had forgotten to set the timer correctly. Indeed! Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on it.

Throughout the stay, the staff were just excellent! They make the stay enjoyable for the young people and as I've said, the activities for them are very good. On checking out, the staff commented on how quiet and how well behaved the young people on this trip had been and how clean and tidy they had left the hostel. I'm the coach driver and didn't know any of the group, but even so, I had also noticed that the entire groups behaviour and manner throughout the whole trip was excellent. Therefore, I was shocked when the owner (this being her first appearance) came running over to the coach as we were leaving and said in a rude, aggressive tone that she'd be billing the organiser for a broken window. Upon inspection by the organiser, it was confirmed that the handle to open one of the windows had indeed broken, however, it looked fairly clear that it had been broken for some time. It would cost approximately £3 to fix yourself. It was fairly clear that this was a desperate attempt to pin the blame on this group for another groups carelessness (or even lack of preventative maintenance on the building). The owner then just said to look out for the bill in the post. The group (with the exception of myself) did seem to enjoy their few days here, however the manner and aggressive attitude of the owner at the end of the stay did leave them disappointed and annoyed.

At the end of the day, it is budget accommodation and if you're happy with budget accommodation and are travelling with kids/young people, then the activities on offer and the excellent staff will make the stay enjoyable. Also, the Glamping huts do look impressive. It is worth a 4/5 rating for this. However, watch out for the owner, because her attitude, manner and way that she talks down to her customers will leave you with a sour taste in your mouth when you leave. That's why I can only rate it 2/5.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I rang to enquire about a booking at the centre and recieved absolutely shocking customer service from a lady over the phone who could not have got off the phone quick enough, she was very abrupt and rude, and i am deeply disappointed as a paying customer to be spoken down to and now I would think twice before booking anything there if that is the quality of the service of all members of staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here with a group of children (28 of them aged 9-11!!!) and loved it. We all had a great time and got to experience things we've never done before. The hostel is an old school which has been converted and it is really cosy, comfortable and clean. The staff are fantastic, so friendly, warm and welcoming and interact well with both adults and children. I will definitely be back with another group.

Room Tip: You can't choose a quite room because you can't choose quite residents (children you take wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorerNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a brilliant time, can't say enough about how great the staff were. The girls who signed us in and looked after the site were really friendly and came across really professional. A big thumbs up to Marty who looked after us for the canoeing , rock wall climbing and zip line, he made it so much fun that our 4 year old went down the zip line no problem at all. We all had a great time and was very impressed with the glamping hut and the amenitys available to the campers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in one of the wooden cocoons on friday night, Glamping.
We really enjoyed it. We did activities on saturday with another family in the other cocoon and it was great fun. Instructor Steve was very nice and patient !
We would come again, although probably when the weather is a bit warmer.
Lovely location and great view of the mountains, but you do need warmer weather to sit out and enjoy them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DundalkRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
14.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
15.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
13.0 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
13.7 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrowmena Activity Centre and Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrowmena Activity Centre and Glamping

Property: Carrowmena Activity Centre and Glamping
Address: 100 Carrowclare Road | Limavady, Derry BT49 9EB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrowmena Activity Centre & Hostel is set at the foot of Binevenagh in the beautiful & adventurous Roe Valley. We offer a range of on & offsite activities wet & dry to include Zip Lines, High Ropes Activities, canoeing, kayaking, rock climbing, abseiling, orienteering to name but a few. All safety equipment supplies along with full qualified instructors. Idea for families, friends, birthday parties, youth/adult, stag/hen packages & corporate team building groups. We have a 38 bed Hostel, 6 X Glamping Pods & 2 acre field for camping..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Carrowmena Activity Centre and Glamping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrowmena Activity Centre And Glamping Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing