We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything first class”

The Belfray Country Inn Bistro
Ranked #13 of 186 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Grill, British, Irish, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy the country hotel dining experience in the relaxing comfort of our informal bistro. Whether you want a light lunch, a midday carvery or a fabulous evening meal our bistro is perfect. Our popular carvery is served daily until 3:30pm but the bistro remains open with an extensive menu catering for all tastes. Why not sample our extensive wine list to compliment your meal. Just a short distance from the city centre we offer you perfect convenience, beautiful surroundings, great food and a service that is affordable and high quality. We are more than a hotel, The Belfray Country Inn has a reputation for its fine food and great atmosphere.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

From the moment you enter the comfortable bar and restaurant you can see that attention to detail from the decoration to the exceptionally friendly staff is designed to leave you wanting to return again and again.
Menu choice is excellent and well priced with larger than average portions.
In new ownership in recent years resulting in a no expense spared complete overhaul.
If your passing the door do call in you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    53
    20
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First class service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We just called in one Saturday evening and ate in the bistro, our first time eating there.
The menu is quite good and the surroundings beautiful.
The thing that made it extra special was the service. We were attended to by a middle aged lady, thin with short hair (I cannot remember her name). She gave us the most fantastic service and just went out of her way to make sure we were happy.
Definatly the best service I have experienced anywhere! Definatly will return again because of her

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CormDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramelton, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I feel compelled to write and complain about the poor tea time menu, and an annoying tv placed in the restaurant advertising the hotel which lasts 5mins and automatically repeats!!!! Unfortunately not for the first time (5th time) the service has been painfully slow, especially in the light of there being few customers and it being between 6 pm and 7 pm. There is no tea time menu so if like me you're wanting a tea time meal rather than dinner go elsewere!
As i write the advertising photograph sums up what you you are likely to be dished up
Not what I want, waiting 40 mins and pay ing dinner prices.
Try ICON 2miles away , there's now comparison!! Value and excellent Food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“60th birthday dinner jan 5th 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

i wuld like to give a big pat on the back to all at the Belfray inn for a very good way they looked after my wifes 60th birthday party on the 5th jan 2013, service ,food ,friendly staff, good setting,great birthday cake and champage provided by belfary, and a fantastic overnight room(which i paid for ) for my wife and i, it is a venue i would recommend for socialising for good and plenty of food i had 22 at the dinner, all i can say is a great place to enjoy your self and well done to all good luck for 2013 and the year of culturein your city see you during the year for sure, and once again thanks for a great evening ,well pleased and satisfied customer.

bjd antrim n.i.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mancity185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate in the bistro as a family on Saturday evening and I felt compelled to write this review.
The food and service were excellent. The steak and chicken combo was cooked to perfection and served beautifully with generous sized portions. The kids menu was varied and again very tasty with great portion sizes.
The waitresses and bar staff were attentive and efficient without being intrusive. We've been here before on a number of occasions and have always had a good experience.
Keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jg093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Belfray Country Inn Bistro also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Belfray Country Inn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing