We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B in Derry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Derry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The B&B was easy to find with the satnav in our rental and Thomas was tending the garden as we pulled up. He put our car in his carport and helped us with the luggage. We dropped our bags in the tidy little rooms and Thomas drove us to the city centre. He even showed us a few places to eat and the general layout of the city centre. I'd recommend this B&B next time you're in Derry. I'd be surprised if there's a better one.

Room Tip: We had three rooms at this B&B and they were largely the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattias8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    80
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
101
215
73
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ollerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at this great B&B on Rosemount Avenue which is only a 15 minute walk from the city centre. Apparently the owner was away at a wedding, however Jerry who was looking after the place really made us feel welcome and nothing was too much to make us feel welcome at this wonderful place. Rooms clean and tidy and a brilliant cooked breakfast served by a lady, like Jerry, so friendly. Car was parked off the road in a secure area to the rear of the property. So much to see and do in the City. Loved our stay in Derry which was made complete by the hospitality at Rose Park House. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found it very enjoyable. We travelled with a group, so I had the opportunity to see a few different rooms. They were all decorated beautifully! Everything was very clean. Thomas offered a fabulous breakfast each morning and was very accommodating with special requests. It was a bit warm in the room our first night, but opening the window a bit fixed that quickly. We had a bit of a walk to the Walled City, but Thomas gave us great directions and a couple of maps that included the sites we wanted to see.

Room Tip: If you plan on traveling with a lot of luggage, you might want to request a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I am a little late in getting this posted as we stayed here in early June of this year (2013). Thomas and his daughter, Mary, made us feel so welcome. Our room was located in a new addition outside the main house. It was roomy, comfortable, quiet, and contained a private ensuite. There was space for our car which we didn't need for our stay. We walked into town but took a cab back (very inexpensive) as the hill was too daunting by the end of a busy day. Our breakfasts were just what we wanted. On the day we left, Thomas spent time drawing us a map to get us on the road to our next stop. He included directions to some special spots to visit (Thomas, climbing Doon Rock was a truly amazing experience-- the sun was shining, and we were the only people there! Thanks for getting us there.) Btw, please say Hello to Ben for us!!
We did get a little lost upon our arrival in the city, despite Thomas' very thorough directions, as this was our first driving experience in Ireland (we are from London, Canada), but some wonderful people actually got into their car and had us follow them to Rose Park. This, by the way, was very typical of the people we met in this wonderful city. Everyone with whom we spoke, especially our hosts, is so incredibly proud of their beautiful city and the reconciliation that has been going on.
We will definitely find our way back to Derry. Will we stay at Rose Hill again--most definitely!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Really central location in Derry. We were able to walk to the main city attractions thanks to the guidance of our lovely hostess. She was friendly and helpful. We had a lovely breakfast and rooms, although smallish were all we required. Very clean and we would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Book your parking beforehand and have a secure place for your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satified10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Kansas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay to Derry. This B&B is nicely run. Clean and cozy. Thomas was incredibly nice and gave us lots of great suggestions on where to go and eat. We went on a drive tour further north. The B & B is close to the road though. So if you do not like hearing noise of cars driving by and sometimes people outside. While I live in the country I had a hard time with the constant noise but did sleep and sleep well I did. It did not take away from my stay or trip what so ever. It is within walking distance to stuff but the hill is quite a killer for those not in great shape. So we drove most of the time. Great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I apologize for the delay in writing this review. I visited Rose Park House during July 2012 and stayed for 3 nights. The house is in a great location, far enough from the city centre to be quiet, but within walking distance (although the uphill walk through the park is a bit tough after visiting the city for the day). The owners were on holiday during my visit, but their son, Aaron, was an excellent host. He made a lovely breakfast in the morning and had great recommendations of what to see, what to do, and where to eat in the area. I stayed in the single room which was just perfect - well appointed and very clean. I really enjoyed my visit and hope to return to Derry soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12thNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
1.2 mi away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 47 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Rosemount Avenue, Derry BT48 0HL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, Home from Home experience offering high quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Derry suitable for travellers on all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Park House Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing