We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch B&B Dedicated Family Business We can see why it's deservedly no. 1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 42 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top notch B&B Dedicated Family Business We can see why it's deservedly no. 1”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Very well appointed tastefully decorated rooms in lovely Victorian residence The whole family go the extra mile and beyond to make you welcome; tea and biscuits on arrival in lovely open fired lounge. Ben the dog is clearly an
Integral part of the family and welcomes you in his own special way! Breakfast substantial and freshly cooked. Why would you want to stay in a sterile hotel with a dubious 4 star rating when you could enjoy a much better stay here for half the price?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimmerthanever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    83
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
221
75
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bacchus Marsh
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here recently for a few nights and chose this B&B because of its high ratings on TripAdvisor. Firstly, it is more than five minutes walk from the B&B to Derry and the walk back is uphill (steep). Best to catch a taxi into town and back. Secondly, parking was a bit of an issue. Parking was offstreet (reasonbly busy street too) but in a laneway adjacent to the B&B which the owners lock at night time (around 11 pm). Narrow laneway trying to reverse out onto the street was a bit daunting. The owner, Thomas and his daughter, Mary, and their Irish Terrier, Ben, were all delightful. Our room was small and the bathroom a very small size and tiny shower. Walls were paper thin as were the towels - which they should replace. No tea facilities or alarm clock in room, which would have been the usual with other B&Bs we had stayed with. Also tissues would be a nice touch too. Another guest, staying on her own, had a much larger room than we did which we thought was odd as there was two of us in this cramped room.

Positive things were the owners and the breakfasts, extremely clean, and the price. Would we stay here again - probably not as it was very cramped and as mentioned earlier, walls were paper thin so you could hear other guests. Also, location wasn't as ideal as we had hoped as once we arrive at a B&B, we like to walk to restaurants, etc. and with the parking being such a concern to reverse into Rosemount Avenue due to traffic, we caught taxis - which are cheap anyway ... but an expense we didn't really want to incur ..

Room Tip: If you are unfit or not prepared to walk a fair distance up and down a steep hill - don't stay h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We arrived at Rose Park House to be greeted warmly by the host (and his lovely old dog!) who seemed genuinely pleased that we were there.

He gave us a choice of two rooms, told us a bit about the area and gave us a map of Derry with some ideas marked out for where to have dinner (we ended up dining at the Mandarin Palace – HIGHLY recommended!)

The room was large with a beautiful modern bathroom, and was warm and comfortable. The location was great, with an easy walk through the park across the road to get to the middle of town.

Our host at breakfast was friendly and helpful, pointing out the best way to get to the Letterkenny ring fort, and seemed interested in where were from and what we were doing on our travels. Breakfast was huge and kept us going until dinner time.

We would highly recommend Rose Park House to other travellers, and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SSandCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Rose Park. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere, superb location (Tommy goes out of his way to give information on the local area), very comfortable rooms and great breakfast!!!
Have used Trip Advisor for years, but have never myself written a review until today... Felt compelled to as staying in Rose Park made our first visit to Derry.
Don't look any further, just book it!
G&E

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We chose this B&B because it was very good rated, that is also why we expected much more from it. On the positive side the room and bathroom were clean, and the decor was ok, but modern and not English at all- if you are in to that, and it was quiet.

TV didn`t work, heaters didn`t work - so we were cold in the night-, the bed was not very comfortable, all in all we had a bad night sleep.

An other turn off was not having a save place to park the car. We had to leave it on the street!
Also was difficult to find, and when we called for directions, the lady had no idea how to help us.

Internet didn`t work at first, had to wait for the password 15 min standing in the hallway.

Breakfast was disappointing, they didn`t even ask how we want our eggs.

When we complained about the Tv and heaters the man sad that he had a family matter and had no time to check the rooms! Although we checked in at 9pm.

!!!!!!!!!Also if you have allergies or don`t like dog, Stay away!!!!!!!!!
They have a dog that practically sleeps in the kitchen area!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyMvdE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Placed high above the city, affording sweeping views, this is a warm and welcoming accommodation, within easy reach of all amenities. Clean, comfortable and friendly - ticks all the boxes!
Ben

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjolin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is your classic B&B but with top notch fully modernized and ensuite rooms. The House is run by a friendly local family and all the family members chip in with the different activities necessary to keep everything running smoothly. Most of Derry like this B&B is on the Donegal or western side of the river and from the B&B you have a 5-10 minutes walk down into the city centre. Complimentary secure off road parking is available and needless to say a decent a la carte breakfast is served and I had no problems with the complimentary WIFI in my room. As I arrived earlier in the day I was able to choose a larger double at the front of the house rather than a smaller rear single that I would otherwise have been booked into. The road outside is not particularly busy and of course everything is double glazed but as I say in many of my reviews , always travel with earplugs if you're worried about being a light sleeper (which I am). Anyway, I enjoyed my 2 night stay and the hospitality and conversations with the friendly family who run the place - like so many others reviewers, I think this establishment comes highly recommended and the hosts work hard to maintain the guesthouse's high standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardmlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
0.8 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
1.0 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#5 of 42 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Rosemount Avenue, Derry BT48 0HL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, Home from Home experience offering high quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Derry suitable for travellers on all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Park House Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing