We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Warm and welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 45 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Placed high above the city, affording sweeping views, this is a warm and welcoming accommodation, within easy reach of all amenities. Clean, comfortable and friendly - ticks all the boxes!
Ben

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjolin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    71
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
204
70
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is your classic B&B but with top notch fully modernized and ensuite rooms. The House is run by a friendly local family and all the family members chip in with the different activities necessary to keep everything running smoothly. Most of Derry like this B&B is on the Donegal or western side of the river and from the B&B you have a 5-10 minutes walk down into the city centre. Complimentary secure off road parking is available and needless to say a decent a la carte breakfast is served and I had no problems with the complimentary WIFI in my room. As I arrived earlier in the day I was able to choose a larger double at the front of the house rather than a smaller rear single that I would otherwise have been booked into. The road outside is not particularly busy and of course everything is double glazed but as I say in many of my reviews , always travel with earplugs if you're worried about being a light sleeper (which I am). Anyway, I enjoyed my 2 night stay and the hospitality and conversations with the friendly family who run the place - like so many others reviewers, I think this establishment comes highly recommended and the hosts work hard to maintain the guesthouse's high standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardmlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Rose park was not quite what we expected. Our room, although containing all the usual fixtures and comforts, was not actually inside the house, but in the refurbished garage out the back. The weather was fine, so there were no problems accessing the house for breakfast. Thomas and the crew were very welcoming and helpful. Ben, the family dog is cute, but not everyone would be OK sharing the breakfast room with him.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradnjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I were guests at the Rose Park House for 3 weeks. We selected this B&B based upon location as it is near friends and relatives we planned to visit. To our surprise, it was more than we hoped for. We were assigned a detached unit which accomodated our many coming and goings at odd hours. We were served a hearty and delicious Irish breakfast each morning. It was around the breakfast table that we became intimate with the very friendly family and staff running Rose Park House. In very short order, we were treated like family. I thoroughly enjoyed and looked forward to the friendly banter as we sat at beakfast. We were also extended additional amenities not usually offered at a B&B, such as use of their computer, mid day snacks and tea, laundry services, etc. Our flight arrangements required a very early departure from Derry. Mary, who runs the day to day operations of Rose Park House and Thomas, her father, were up extra early to prepare us breakfast and ensure Taxi service. Throughout our visit we were treated like family. Rose Park House will always be my first choice upon a return trip to Derry.

Room Tip: Reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyRed6995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Where to start, so many wonderful things... When i first got there i was greeted by Mary. She had tea or coffee and biscuits waiting and a warm fire on (which was grand as was a chilly april day). Then we had a lovely conversation and i was made to feel right at home. Next, i was shown my room . Beautiful, very comfortable, clean room and all are ensuite. Every nite was very restful. The only thing you could hear at night was the quiet whoosh of cars going by. Breakfast every morning was great! From full Irish to continental style or whatever variation you desired. The hosts Thomas, Joe, Mary or one of Thomas sons, were more than happy to provide. This B n B is only 15 min walk from city center and very convenient by taxi service as well. Thomas was a very gracious host, and always very helpful, funny and friendly. Of all the places I've stayed, I've never felt more at home and I was treated like family. I was very sad to leave and look forward to my next visit to the beautiful city of Derry. I will definitely come back and stay at Rose Park House again. I highly recommend it if you plan on staying in Derry. Amazing hosts, convenient, and well priced. As a solo traveler i was made to feel rite at home. Thank you, Thomas and family for everything!

From Emily D in Ohio

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were coming to Derry for a friend's wedding at the Beech Country House Hotel in Ardmore and we couldn't get a room as it was already booked out. How lucky we were - because that led us to discover this gem of a place on the Bogside. My English Home Counties wife might have expected to feel less than comfortable passing Free Derry Corner and the murals on the way up to the house, but quite the opposite is what happened. She and I felt very welcome and looked after.
Thomas and the whole family running Rose Park couldn't have been more thoughtful, courteous and friendly (but not in the OTT way that some B&B owners can sometimes be). The house was spotless - our room was dominated by a very large bed with a very comfortable mattress. The room's decor was (surprisingly to us) to a very contemporary style with Asian influence. The tiled bathroom with shower cabinet was perfect. Awesome power shower. Hot water with speed and pressure that an American 4* would be hard pressed to match. The family even recommended a local hairdresser, Vivid Studio, for my wife to get her hair done on the morning of the wedding - and she was impressed with the banter, quality and value.
The fried breakfast was perfection.
We will be recommending Rose Park to anyone who is thinking of visiting Derry/Londonderry. It's worth a change from a soulless corporate hotel and it's far better value for money for a room and experience of superior quality. Thanks Rose Park!

Room Tip: If you want the maximum chance for quiet night, ask for rm 1 if it's available - it doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Yes, we came to stay at the Rose Park House in Derry for a wedding at the Presbyterian church. We needed a location with easy access to the city centre both for the sites and the bars and restaurants, but we were also on a budget. We chose Rose Park House as it was very reasonably priced and because of the feedback from previous visitors. Rose Park House was particularly comfortable, with tastefully decorated rooms and most importantly it's run by a very friendly family and some of their close friends. A good breakfast was anticipated and we were not dissapointed - we kept eating and drinking tea for an hour! We were a reasonably demanding bunch but all of our requests were happily met and exceeded. Our stay incorporated the Easter weekend and so breakfast expanded into afternoon teas with homemade cakes especially baked for the celebration (it would have been very rude not to!). You really do get a sense that the people who run this place are so keen to invite any guests into their home and make them feel most welcome. Well done Thomas, Joe, Aaron et al. We shall return with the rest of our team, as promised.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_Hopkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry
#5 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 45 in Derry
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Rosemount Avenue, Derry BT48 0HL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, Home from Home experience offering high quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Derry suitable for travellers on all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Park House Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing