We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jewel in Derry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phoenix B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix B&B
Ranked #13 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A jewel in Derry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Pat and Belinda are very charming hosts who really go the extra mile for their guests, and their rooms and breakfast are simply delightful. The house itself is beautifully decorated and the location is superb, just a few blocks' walk from the fabled Bishop's Gate and St. Columb's Cathedral (another gem). Their guest house is a great base for exploring a wonderful city!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandywineDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    31
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
59
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great location as it is only a five minute walk to the walls of Derry. Pat and Belinda are very helpful and breakfast was great. Room was clean and functional. We loved it for the practical aspect. Very handy and could go everywhere.

Room Tip: This is a B&B and not a place if you are looking for privacy or a romantic getaway . We loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here in April 2014 with my daughter.. Good location for the centre of Derry... Room was clean and quiet, breakfast was more than enough!, and good choice available..
Owners were friendly and helpful, made to feel very welcome

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great b and b lovely hosts . excellent location highly recommended. 5 min walk to centre. Rooms spotless and breakfast lovely.
Patsy and Belinda couldn't do enough for you. Will stay again.Great local bar the rocking chair friendly and fun.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgag1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee,Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed in the Phoenix on Thursday 27th March. I was warmly greeted by the owner Pat, and shown to my room. The room itself was perfect with a very comfortable bed, very important after a day's driving. Pat is very knowledgeable on his city and as I'm a runner he even suggested a route for my training run that evening!

The following morning I was served a fantastic breakfast by Pat's wife Belinda, always greeted with a smile. The Phoenix is no more than a 20 minute leisurely stroll from the Guildhall and a 5 minute walk from the Foyle Embankment. Thanks Pat and Belinda for a wonderful city, and I will hopefully be back in your wonderful city soon!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 4 and it was perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Lovely , clean and very friendly, right in the heart of Londonderry. Breakfast was really enjoyable, and the rooms were very clean, and airy. Great undercover shopping centre, and lots of good bars nearby. Would certainly return here and would reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calmor555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Have had a great couple of days stay in Derry at the Phoenix.The very hospitable Belinda and Pat will enhance your stay.Accomodation at this B and B is A plus graet shower comfortable bed,but for us the main point is the closeness to Derry city centre a leisurely 10 minute stroll.Well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#8 of 47 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix B&B

Property: Phoenix B&B
Address: Without 138 Bishop Street, Derry BT48 6UQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located to discover this beautiful city on foot, Phoenix B&B is just a few minutes from the historical walled city centre. Accommodation is of a high standard in modern comfortable surroundings. Guests have a choice of a cooked Irish breakfast or a continental breakfast. A warm welcome is assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix B&B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing