We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good B&B, especially if working to a budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phoenix B&B
Ranked #14 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good B&B, especially if working to a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The B&B is very well located just outside the Derry walls. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to the walls. The building is tall and narrow. Our room was on the top floor but there was no problem at all with Pat, the owner, offering and then assisting with our luggage. There are good eating places about 2 minutes inside the walls and a supermarket right next door with some takeaway places also. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable. There was ample hot water for the shower. Breakfast was cereal, juice and a hot cooked course. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Car parking is in the street directly in front of the b&B.

Our room was very small for 2 people. One side of the double bed was just about 15-20cm from the wall so it meant that one of us had to clamber over the other to get in/out of the bed. The bathroom, while functional, was very small. If you were on a budget then this B&B would be a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyeismart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    31
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
57
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

A great little spot to stay whilst in Derry. Near to the city walls, and a quick walk to a great dinner location that would suit all tastes (recommended by the host). Pat was very helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure we had a comfortable stay. The breakfast was delicious and the free internet worked well. Thanks Pat! Sam & Tania.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Opted for the standard double without ensuite bathroom. The room was very small (one side of the bed touched the wall), but was large enough for the two of us. We simply moved the bed out a bit. The bathroom next to the room was large and had a good shower.

The hosts were very friendly and gave great suggestions for food and sightseeing in the town. Standard but filling breakfast. The location can't be beat, just outside the city wall and a short walk from the bus station, but watch the steep hill to the center of town if you're dragging your luggage. If you take the wall path, it's less steep.

The B&B doesn't take credit cards, so bring cash or use the ATM in the center of town.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get the ensuite double. You'll appreciate the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MP830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My partner and i stayed here for one night,we where greeted by Pat the owner who was very nice,showed us to our room,he was very chatty and made us very welcome, the room was very nice ,clean and bright with tea and coffee hairdryer etc,after a lovely stay we were greeted by Belinda his wife the next morning with a wonderful breakfast which consisted of choice of cereals fresh orange juice and big fry up made to your liking.having stayed in the travelodge the previously this B&B was far better by a mile in price and comfort,Pat and Belinda's is home away from home,i would strongly recommend and we will definitly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharonbyr-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Hi all myself and my partner stayed over night. It was a lovely a home from home. Must recommend this B&B to all wanting to stay in Derry. Rooms are very comfortable with tea and coffee making, I want to thank Pat and Belinda for their hospitality, Breakfast was lovely all grilled, Pat and Belinda take time out for their guests and have a chat to them. Its set beside the Mace, Bridie's, and only 200 yards from the historical city walls. take a tour around Free Derry, i did not need a tour guide as my partner lived their when he was at university. All in all i highly commend this property and we are returning.

David and Darren

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linedancerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

me and my friend arrived into derry on AUGUST 2ND TUESDAY and on arrival to the phoenix we were greeted by john the owner as it was our 1st time into derry he gave us plenty of info and after checking in we had a walk around the city and thanks to john we didnt get lost .........the b+b is only a few mins walk from the city centre

we had a twin room and it was clean and tidy and couldnt fault it atall in any way .breakfast was excellent ..

.john and his wife are very accomodating and friendly and will help you in any way they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

i would highly reccomend this b+b to anybody that wants to stay in derry its reasonable and the big bonus is its not in the heart of the city centre so anybody that is looking for a good nights sleep pick the phoenix as your destination.

hope this review helps ........many thanks again ......dan

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binda1, Owner at Phoenix B&B, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Many thanks Dan for your lovely review Pat and Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We arrived to a warm welcome from Pat and Belinda. The room was better than some 3 star hotels we had stayed in. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom very modern and clean. TV, hairdryer and tea / coffee making facilities in the room. Pat and Balinda were very nice and helpful about where to go and what to do around the city. Breakfast was delicious and made to your liking. After staying in the Travel Lodge in Derry two years previously I would defiantly recommend Phoenix B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andyjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binda1, Owner at Phoenix B&B, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you Andy for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix B&B

Property: Phoenix B&B
Address: Without 138 Bishop Street, Derry BT48 6UQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located to discover this beautiful city on foot, Phoenix B&B is just a few minutes from the historical walled city centre. Accommodation is of a high standard in modern comfortable surroundings. Guests have a choice of a cooked Irish breakfast or a continental breakfast. A warm welcome is assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Phoenix B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix B&B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing